The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

command line commands - creating and setting up a quota to an email address

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by cteinternet, May 28, 2009.

  1. cteinternet

    cteinternet Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi.

    I'm looking for the command to set up the quota to an email address. I'm writing a script to convert a qmail/vpopmail system to cPanel. I have just found the /scripts/addpop command to create an email account but it doesn't support any quota option.

    If anybody is SURE that I just need to set up the quota in ~user/etc/domain.dom.br/quota file AND ~user/mail/domain.dom.br/any-email-account/maildirsize, PLEASE, confirm. This way I'll be able to adjust my script to set up these files easily.

    Thank You very much.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Instead of trying to set up quotas that way, I recommend placing the accounts and quotas in a CSV file and then using the cPanel interface's "Import Addresses/Forwarders" feature to import that information into cPanel.
     
  3. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That option isn't available on custom theme.

    Hi, I noticed that the x3 theme has the CSV Import option in it. We have custom themes created off of the original x3 theme, and noticed that the csv import option wasn't on ours.

    I just re-did all of our custom themes based off of the new x3 and I still don't show the csv import options... If I switch one of my customers domains to use x3 instead of our custom theme, the option shows up, but if I switch back to the custom theme, the option disappears.

    What file/option do I need to change in my custom theme so that the csv import option appears?

    FYI: It is already enabled in the features list.

    Thanks.
    Peter
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is one of the many reasons I shy away from custom themes nowadays. The branding system is powerful enough to meet most needs for customizing the appearance of the cPanel interface and will gracefully adapt to new features as they are introduced - unlike custom themes which never inherit new functionality or UI improvements automatically.

    If you wish to stick with the theme route instead of moving over to styles, I recommend copying the x3 theme completely and customize that to ensure you have all the latest improvements. I have a clone of the x3 theme on my test server and it displays the Email Import feature.

    If your staff wants to migrate from using Themes to using Styles for customizing the appearance of cPanel, let me know and I'll be glad to assist.

    Anyone wanting assistance with better understanding the advanced functionality of our Branding Editor and how it can meet your advanced UI customization needs, is welcome to email sales@cpanel.net
     
  5. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    already tried that...

    David,

    Thanks, but I already tried that. I took the most recent x3 theme, copied it and then made the modifications that I needed to make for our system. There's only a handful of them (only 2 files that needs to be modified), and yet the new feature still doesn't show up.

    Branding/styles is not the issue. The changes we have to make are with mail spool quota. We based our hosting packages on the premise that you get so much mailspool quota based on the package you have. You want more? Upgrade. The x3 theme doesn't allow for that, the users are able to set their mailspool quota to any size they wish, and it used to be that they could set it above their normal package quota, but I see that has been corrected.

    However, our theme simply removes the feature to change the quota and we set it accordingly for each of the packages we have. So branding wouldn't help here. We have to modify the theme if we are going to maintain the same packages we have been using.

    Back to the copying the x3 theme over. If I set the user to x3, he has the option, if I then copy that x3 theme over to our theme, and then set the customer to that theme, the option disappears...

    The only files I'm changing are under the mail directory: pops.html and popsinclude.html. Neither of which should have an effect on the options available on the main page.

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah, I see.

    Couple of things I would run as root via SSH if this was my server:
    - /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_sprites
    - touch /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x3clone/dynamicui.conf

    Where x3clone represents the name of your theme.

    Just so you know, you can copy your custom pages and transform them into cPanel Plugins and then use the "disabled" feature list in cPanel/WHM to remove the functionality we bundle in such a way that it cannot be re-enabled by a reseller etc.

    This would allow you to customize the functionality of our software without editing a theme, and will allow your features to work in any cPanel theme/style. I'm not saying you have to do this, but the possibility is there and I'm willing to assist you with this if you desire.
     
Loading...

Share This Page