The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

compatibility review for intel i5 2550k

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rootlover, Jul 21, 2013.

  1. rootlover

    rootlover Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello everyone,
    i just bought intel i5 2550k processor, and i would like to make it as a server using cloud linux 6 x86_64 and latest cpanel/whm, but i have a little bit confusion in my head about compatibility issue with this processor, since this processor doesn't have any GPU. my question, is there anyone notice any compatible issue with this processor when using cloud linux 6 x86_64 and latest cpanel/whm, and what is the best mobo for this processor.
    thank you
     
  2. ilaurens

    ilaurens Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The CPU won't be a problem, since basically all CPU works with linux. And CPanel is running on linux so that won't be a problem.

    There could be a intergrated GPU, but a GPU is not required by CPanel nor cloudlinux as far I know.
     
  3. srider

    srider Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA USA
    cPanel and Intel i series CPUs are among the best possible choices to use together. CENTOS and Apache run wonderfully on an i5 too. You'll definitely have no problems.
     
  4. ilaurens

    ilaurens Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I wonder? wouldn't be e3's be better for such tasks? i5's i7's are not build for 24/7 though they can be used for that.
     
  5. rootlover

    rootlover Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you so much for the replay, now i can little bit breath deeply. i will bring my server one or two day again to the data center. and i will update the result

    thanks for the info bro
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, you should be able to boot the server into console mode without a graphics card. Let us know how it works out for you.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page