The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

compile bz2

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PortugalNetwork, May 9, 2005.

  1. PortugalNetwork

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I still canot compilie php with bz2, i have contacted support , and they say to use --with-bz2 but where do i put this option?

    How can i compile php in the command line? Is there a way to do it in WHM.

    Thanks
     
  2. pshepperd

    pshepperd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, to get you started, here is where cpanel stores the php source
    /home/cpins/installd/buildapache/php-4.3.10

    so you have to add --with-bz2 to your ./configure , but cpanel uses a script to compile all this, with many other things included, if you compile it only using --with-bz2 you WILL have problems.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That location is only relevant from when you initially built your server (and may not even be called cpins/). The directory tree that easyapache uses is under /home/cpapachebuild
     
  4. pshepperd

    pshepperd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oh ok, then if its a recent install u want this directory
    /home/cpins/installd/buildapache
     
  5. PortugalNetwork

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I see that, but witch file do update so i can complie apache with bz2?

    Thanks
     
  6. pshepperd

    pshepperd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I hesitate to tell you this, because this WILL break a lot of things, you have to find ALL of the modules you want to compile it with, and I dont know how cpanel will deal with this, I would not do this in a testing environment.

    Assuming you have installed bzip2 and its libraries you can go to

    Code:
    cd /home/cpins/installd/buildapache/php-4.3.10
    then
    Code:
    ./configure --with-bz2
    your really need
    ./configure --with-bz2 and then other stuff as well like openssl and other things that you might need

    then just
    Code:
    make
    Code:
    make install
    if you dont clean it, hopefully you wont break to much :confused: ???
    I wish you luck!
     
Loading...

Share This Page