The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Compiling apache with both mod_php and mod_perl?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by motivez, Nov 10, 2006.

  1. motivez

    motivez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel tells me that it's not compatible, but I know it's possible.. so I'm assuming they just mean as far as the buildapache script goes.

    Is there a way to get this to work via cPanel?
     
  2. motivez

    motivez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone? :)

    Surely someone out there must need both of them!
     
  3. motivez

    motivez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Bueller? Bueller?
     
  4. dogslife

    dogslife Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do as of yesterday, and still don't know a cure. Anyone else figure this out?
     
  5. motivez

    motivez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I never found one, and these forums really don't seem to be much help.
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why do you need mod_perl?

    Most server configurations have no need for mod_perl because you
    do not need it in order to run and fully support Perl scripts.

    In the same vain, there are better ways to run PHP than as a plain
    insecure Apache module. I personally would recommend SuPHP
    for those on Apache 2 but if you aren't on Apache 2 then you might
    want to consider phpSuExec.

    Bottom line though it is extremely rare for you to actually legitimately
    need both mod_perl and mod_php so I am a bit curious as to what
    you are specifically wanting to do on the server that needs those.
     
  7. dogslife

    dogslife Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I wanted to evaluate the trial version of @Mail, and it requires mod_perl. They are supposedly putting out a PHP version, and so now I'm going to wait for that.

    I didn't know Apache2 was on a stable release, or are you running on an edge release?
     
  8. nathacof

    nathacof Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a customer who needs mod_perl for a site he's migrating to his VPS.

    It does no good for you to ask why... the poster was asking for people who have attempted to set this up. Not suggestions on how we can get around setting it up.

    I'd be grateful to anyone with more information on this topic as well!

    Thanks!
     
  9. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    it is/was likely an incompatibility with the implementation in the easyapache in Current, Release and Stable. I don't see any such warning (other than: you need to know what you are doing) when enabling mod_perl and mod_php in the new easyapache (EA3) in Edge.
     
Loading...

Share This Page