The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete account backup

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by ASTRAPI, May 28, 2009.

  1. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello

    As a root in a shared server how can i take a complete backup of a account?
    (files,databases,mails)

    Thanks
     
  2. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    localhost
    As a root you can create the backup for the account with the command as below.

    Login to the server via SSH and execute the command

    Note :: Replace the username with original cPanel user.
     
  3. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any easier solution?

    With Gui?

    Maybe using whm...

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could use WHM to login to the cPanel interface for the user and from there go to the Backups section and Generate a Full Site Backup. Generate a Full Site Backup is a frontend for the script mentioned above.

    During this process, you can choose to have this backup sent somewhere via FTP or just placed in the user's home directory.
     
  5. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Great that was i am looking for :)

    Is it possible to get the backup straight to my pc?

    Thanks
     
    #5 ASTRAPI, May 29, 2009
    Last edited: May 29, 2009
  6. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I don't think it is possible. You can either take backup in your home directory or you can directly copy to another FTP location.

    But once the backup is completed, you can download the full backup.

    Kailash
     
  7. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    But i think i must create a ftp server in my pc to get the full backup....
     
  8. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you can setup FTP server in your system then you can directly transfer backup by selecting "FTP" option.

    Kailash
     
  9. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    my /home is quite full, i need the pkgacct to create my backup file (thecpmove-user.tar.gz) directly to /home2/ or /backup/
    how do i specifically tell backup script to use this location ?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The pkgacct script will create the backup file into whatever mountpoint is set in WHM as the Default Home Directory. Changing this setting will change where pkgacct will create the backup file, but it will also change the default home directory as the setting's name suggests.
     
  11. franklinbeech40

    franklinbeech40 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    exactly what I was looking for. thanks!


     
  12. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I think you can specify different location of taking backups by specifying Backup Destination in WHM -> configure backup Backup Destination. This should be a directory/NFS/Coda mount with at least twice the space of all your /home* partitions
     
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That works for full server backups generated by /scripts/cpbackup but doesn't influence the location of full site backups created by /scripts/pkgacct.
     
Loading...

Share This Page