The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complicated for me .. probably very easy for you :)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kiefer.andy, Jun 6, 2005.

  1. kiefer.andy

    kiefer.andy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I started intalling cPanel last night and I left it install and download required software overnight ... no problems there. Int he morning, everything was ok, or so it said ...

    When I try to login to http://myip:8082 via IE6, a window pops up asking for my username and password. What's that? i tries with my root user and password (didn't work), then i tried with the cpanel username, but i didn't know the password for that user, bacause at install it didn't asked for a password. If i click cancel, i am taken to the main login page, but there I am stuck with the same dilemma ... what user and what pass?

    Please help, i'm in a big mess ..

    Sincerely yours, Kiefer
     
  2. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Please use the following link to login to your cpanel
    --------------------------------------
    http://yourip:2082
    --------------------------------------

    Let me know the status.
     
    #2 bijo, Jun 6, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2005
  3. kiefer.andy

    kiefer.andy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry

    Sorry for my mistate in the previous post .. i tried to login to http://myip:2082 and it didn't work .. not 8082 .. sorry about that ...

    Can you help me?
     
  4. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Please try this link and
    ----------------------------------
    http://yourip:2086
    username :root
    password :xxxxxxxxxx
    -----------------------------------

    Let me know the status.
     
  5. kiefer.andy

    kiefer.andy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    works

    Man, you're my here, it worked :) thanks a lot ... is there anything more I should know about? why didn't work the first time? 2082? ..

    anyway, thanks a lot again
     
  6. Gareth

    Gareth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Isle of Anglesey, UK
    2082/2083 is for cpanel

    2086/2087 is for whm
     
  7. kiefer.andy

    kiefer.andy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok

    ok, and how do i login to cpanel? what user and what pass? do i need to login to cpanel? (this sounds like the stupidest question you ever heard, isnt'it?)
     
  8. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you need to create at least one account

    whm create account domain.com
     
  9. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Thanks for your update :)

    Only cpanel users can access to his cpanel through port :2082. if root login to http:ip:2086, He will get the WHM not cpanel. Please have a look at this link.

    http://cpanel.net/docs.htm
     
  10. kiefer.andy

    kiefer.andy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks

    Okey, got that ... so users go to 2082 to cpanel .. admin goes to 2086 for whm..

    K .. when i try to create a new user i get this error ...

    Please setup a nameserver under Server Setup in WHM!!!

    Missing NS Config Line in /etc/wwwacct.conf

    my nameserver is 85.204.88.1 .. so i added this and still the same error .. can i add any ns i want or i have to provide the ns from my ISP?

    with the hope i'm not annoying you, Kiefer
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess

Share This Page