The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

configue backup between two server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by upsforum, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I set the configure backup on WHM, I set backup the first server on account FTP in second server but i have a problem.

    on second server I have a partition /backup (120GByte), I like generate files tar and move this from account ftp (in /home partition) to /backup partition?


    thank
    Alessio
     
  2. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ............. up!
     
  3. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you try to explain again? I read through it a few times and couldn't understand what you're asking.... :confused:
     
  4. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    Re:

    hi,
    seems you want to transfer tar ball backup from 1 server to another, look for older threads with "back up script" , and you would find details about doing so and scripts which can be used to FTP your backup directory to a remote server.

    see ya,
    mohit
     
  5. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now I make the backup tar files in cpbackup of an account FTP (/home/myuser/cpbackup), this on second remote server, but if would move tar files in /backup partition?
     
  6. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    .................up!
     
  7. carteluo

    carteluo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Porlamar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  8. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    Read the solution but have some question. Please correct me if i'm wrong.

    Step 1 is generating the key at server 1 (Main Server)

    Step 2 is uploading the key to server 2 (Backup Server)

    Step 3 is the question :

    --------------------------------------
    Create a directory via FTP. Login using your favorite FTP client. Make sure you set it such that you can view hidden files.

    * Create a directory .ssh
    * Move the hostname.pub into the newly created directory
    * Rename "hostname.pub" to "authorized_keys".
    * It should already have the right permissions. But if necessary, set it to mode 600.
    ---------------------------------------

    In my opinion, i must create .ssh directory via FTP to server 2 (Backup Server). Is that right ? So where i must create this directory ? On /home/backupaccount or else where ?

    Step 4 is creating script on server 1 (Main Server). Is this step also create backup before transfer it to Backup Server or i must use standard backup from WHM Backup ?
     
  9. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Since you're doing this on your own backup server (presumably, and not the server of the backup service from which these instructions originate) then the directory you specify should work fine.

    As for step 4, it only backs up the single account you specify. You could modify that script to process multiple accounts.

    If you're able to use rsync to do your backups, take a peek at this:

    backup using rsync

    At the very bottom of the first post is a link to another HOW TO that explains setting up automatic rsync transfers bewteen two hosts. Works great!
     
Loading...

Share This Page