Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Configuration.php problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kate2000, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. Kate2000

    Kate2000 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hello. After I downloaded my website folders and dump my website still odes not work. I guess the problem is that there is some mistake I made when changing configuration.php. I am new with the webdesigning. Can somebody help me.
    I changed the following:
    var $log_path = '/home/NAME/public_html/hrg-online.net/logs';
    var $tmp_path = '/home/NAME/public_html/hrg-online.net/tmp';
    var $host = 'top1'; (here I have doubts, should it be freehost (host package) ot top1 (server name)
    var $user = 'NAME_svt';
    var $db = 'NAME_svt';
    var $password = '*****'
    Where is the mistake or should I change something else?
    Wher can be the mistake. My website is not found, says Page Not Found, Back
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Try to use the host name as local host and also check the error logs for the exact error message which you are receiving from the below mentioned location:

    /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Kate2000

    Kate2000 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Thank you. I should put this extention after what?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,460
    Likes Received:
    418
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure I understand, what's this config file for exactly? Is this an addon domain?

    Yours:
    var $log_path = '/home/NAME/public_html/hrg-online.net/logs';
    var $tmp_path = '/home/NAME/public_html/hrg-online.net/tmp';
    var $host = 'top1'; (here I have doubts, should it be freehost (host package) ot top1 (server name)

    With my comments in between:


    var $log_path = '/home/NAME/public_html/hrg-online.net/logs';

    If you place the path to logs here in the above line, they will be accessible by anyone with a browser for viewing.
    ----
    var $tmp_path = '/home/NAME/public_html/hrg-online.net/tmp';

    Same with this line above, bad idea to place this where it can be accessed from the Web.
    ----
    var $host = 'top1'; (here I have doubts, should it be freehost (host package) ot top1 (server name)

    This one is easy, change it to localhost. All one word, all lowercase.

    ----
    Something like this might be better:

    var $log_path = '/home/NAME/hrg-online.net/logs';
    var $tmp_path = '/home/NAME/hrg-online.net/tmp';
    var $host = 'localhost'; (here I have doubts, should it be freehost (host package) ot top1 (server name)

    Of course you'd have to create the logs and tmp directory for this use.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice