Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Configure email client giving out incorrect info?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by random, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. random

    random Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Hi,

    The section at:

    Email Accounts :: Configure Email Client

    shows that the cPanel password should be used to access an email account, instead of the password set for that email account. Surely this is not correct as it would mean that the same password would give access to all email accounts with a given domain.

    It also shows that both incoming and outgoing server settings should use the server host address instead of the client's domain such as mail.clientdomain.com

    Is there a way to modify this information?

    Thanks.

    Pascal
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,170
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is an internal case on this to be corrected.

    If the clients domain doesn't have a dedicated IP and cert, this works.

    cPanel is taking care of the wording having to do with cPanel password. HTH!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. LDHosting

    LDHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It will work, as would using the server IP address. However, have you considered what will happen following a server transfer/upgrade? Rather than a nice seamless transfer you are going to have customers complaining that their email doesn't work as they will be attempting to connect to an old server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. random

    random Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Hi Infopro,

    Thank you for taking the time to respond.

    Yes, this may work, but if a client's domain need to be moved to a new server, that client will need to update the settings for all their email accounts to reflect the new server's host address. This might be very inconvenient for some clients with a lot of addresses or with clients who are not very familiar with changing email settings.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,170
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Indeed. What would you suggest be done to permit users to use SSL email otherwise though?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. random

    random Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Yes, that is a problem.

    Can you make it so that this section of cPanel can be disabled via the package feature manager and leave it to the host to decide how to approach the problem? This way it will be up to the host to enable this feature and use it or to disable it and create their own systems to help their clients set-up email software.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,170
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is no way to disable this that I'm aware of.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. random

    random Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Yes, I realise there is not way to disable it at present, but would cPanel consider adding that facility sometime soon?
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,170
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might be interested in posting a Feature Request for this sort of functionality if you feel it would be useful:
    cPanel Feature Requests
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. random

    random Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Will do. Thanks.
     
  11. ayush.go

    ayush.go Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any update on this how this issue can be resolved?

    I am facing same issue on one of our servers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice