The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

configure exim need help

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by edzzone, Sep 22, 2012.

1. edzzone

edzzone Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi I am new to setting up my mail system and learning. I have purchase vps+cpanel and configured somehow my mail server since it can send mail internally and use its dedicated IP every mail. My concern is how to configure exim so that I can use the smtp settings to run in my desktop mailer. It wont allow me and I cannot connect to my smtp server. any help is highly appreciated.

2. dalem

dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    pretty straight forward

user someuser@youdomain.com
    SMTP Host Address: mail.yourdomain.com (your ip address can be uses as well)
    outgoing Mail Server ---- My server requires authentication should be checked (optional)
    should be checked if you are only sending

Note your ISP may block remote SMTP on port 25 in this case set up exim to listen on a different port

3. pwhjenny

pwhjenny Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What desktop mailer you use? outlook?

4. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Of note, if your desktop mailer instead means some desktop mailing list script to send large quantities of email, then you'll probably need to add your IP for relaying. Here's a post on doing that:

http://forums.cpanel.net/f43/add-ip-range-allowed-relay-hosts-268021.html#post1121531

For that file (/etc/alwaysrelay), it will need the IP of your local system for that system to be allowed to relay emails through your server.

5. edzzone

edzzone Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator