Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Configure/Move the backup folder to Hard Disk 2

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Seyed Meeran, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. Seyed Meeran

    Seyed Meeran Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have primary HDD and secondary HDD mounted in my VPS.

    My primary hdd space is 25GB and i brought additional hdd of 80GB since it is running out of space.

    Now i want to change the backup folder. i want to store all my backups in hard disk two.
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :),

    For this you will have to mount your second HDD on /backup directory.

    1) First login your server through SSH with the root user

    2) Rename your current backup directory to backup-ORI
    Code:
    cd /
    mv backup backup-ORI
    3) Create new backup directory
    Code:
    mkdir backup
    4) Create a partition on your second disk and mount that on /backup directly which you have just created on your server.

    5) Move your old backup from /backup-ORI to /backup
    Code:
    cd /backup-ORI
    mv * /backup/
    
    Please try with above steps and let me know if you have any other question.

    Thanks,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Seyed Meeran

    Seyed Meeran Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @24x7server

    I tried the steps above and i am getting error that the directory is not mounted.

    1 ) HDD 25GB ( I install cpanel on this HDD and backup folder is located in this HDD)

    2 ) Now i brought another HDD 80GB and mounted as /home2

    3 ) Now i want to create a folder "backup" inside /home2 (HDD2) and store all backup into the new folder in /home2
     
    #3 Seyed Meeran, Nov 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 17, 2015
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Seyed,

    If you want to store your backup on /home2 partition then create backup directory on /home2 ( mkdir /home2/backup ) and change your backup path through WHM >> Backup configuration
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can simply create the directory and update the backup path via "WHM >> Backup Configuration". Note that storing accounts and backups on the same partition is not advised.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice