The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Configure my firewall to allow access on port 80

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by petercon, Dec 16, 2006.

  1. petercon

    petercon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    UK2 says they have moved my domains to my dedicated server and there are no problems, I just need to allow connections on port 80 through the firewall using cPanel.

    1. As I have not used linux/unix for a number of years and I am new to cPanel, I do not know how to do this - PLEASE HELP

    2. I cannot find file manager in the cPanel options - please suggest where this may be

    thanks:mad:
     
  2. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Cpanel does not come with a firewall. There are some 3rd party firewalls available that may have been installed. Which firewall are you using?

    Mickalo
     
  3. petercon

    petercon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Don't believe I have a firewall unless this comes as standard

    I haven't installed one so presume I do not have one running.
    I am only going by their advice in a support email.

    As I cannot find file manager or the command line screen I can't check anything.....the smallest piece of help would be useful. I have even looked at the cPanel manual and cannot find the file manager icon where it says I can find it.

    With 26 years IT experience 10 years of that on Unix/C and Oracle I feel a bit of an idiot not knowing where to go...cannot get any joy from UK2 except it will cost me £10.00 to complete the transfer as I only have semi-support with the package, but can't even get a reply when submitting a ticket, seems to be taking at least 3 days for them to reply,

    please help if you can...HPC
    :confused:
     
  4. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You'll need to do all that from shell, not within cPanel (unless you have the WHM filemanager from Chirpy's 'ConfigServer.com'

    In fact, that's probably the easiest way to get a firewall up and running is to install his firewall.. VERY simple setup.
     
  5. petercon

    petercon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There was a firewall

    They have now contacted me. Basic Firewall was installed but the problem was that no accounts had been created.

    They logged onto root and created the account and after logging onto that account through :2082 I could see the File Manager.

    They have configured one of my doamins so I used cuteftp to transfer the files and voila! site works fine.

    I will now :-

    1) investigate how to get into the shell
    2) look at what they have set-up before transferring the remaining domains

    thanks for the advice
    :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page