The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Configure website on IP.

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by imran_khan, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I want to configure/run web site on IP address. Means I want to access the website through IP Address not domain.
    And also let me know, Later how can I revert website from IP Address to domain. Actually I have created the cpanel account with xyz.com (actual domain is different) but currently I want to access this through IP Address and later will want to access it through actual domain name. Please let me know the step by step procedure.

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  2. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The domain name must have its own dedicated IP address.
     
  3. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Kernow,

    Thanks,

    I have only one IP address and it is already bind with xyz.com domain.

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    The documentation is your friend.

    Change Site's IP Address - cPanel Documentation
     
  5. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Infopro,

    Already tried the mentioned document method but no luck.

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    When you say, no luck, what do you mean by that exactly? I'll be happy to help you thru the docs if I can.
     
  7. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I want to access the web site through IP Address. Please let me know, how can I do this?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Once you've set the account to have it's own Dedicated IP properly, according to the docs I've linked you to, you'd visit it in your browser at /http://123.45.6789
     
  9. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have checked the dedicated IP option when created cpanel account and I was accessing web site via IP Address and suddenly it stopped. Can I again assign dedicated IP address to the account from the Cpanel and WHM?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No, changing the account to a Dedicated IP is done from in WHM, as explained in the documentation I've linked you to.
     
  11. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You mean to say, I can not assign again same dedicated IP Address to the same account after creation?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If its already assigned to the account, no, I don't think you can re-assign it a second time. It's already assigned to the account.

    You might reassign the account back to the main shared IP used for other accounts though. Once you've done that, the dedicated IP on your system you had assigned previously to this account, would be free to be reassigned to some other, or that same account even, again.

    HTH!
     
  13. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  14. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might check to make sure the IP was properly added to the DNS zone template.
    Home » DNS Functions » Edit DNS Zone, accountname.com
     
  15. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can I run below command to fix this issue?

    From the command line:
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    /scripts/restartsrv_httpd

    or

    /scripts/autorepair userdir_enable_fix
    /scripts/restartsrv_httpd

    From the WHM:
    Service Configuration -> Apache Configuration -> Global Configuration ->
    Save -> Rebuild Configuration and Restart Apache

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hello,

    Yes domain is properly added in DNS.

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can try rebuilding the Apache configuration file via:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    It's important to ensure the account is assigned a dedicated IP address. This IP address can not be assigned to any other accounts, and it can not be configured as the main shared IP address of the server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page