The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Configuring AutoSSL

Discussion in 'Security' started by SGroupGeorge, Aug 3, 2016.

  1. SGroupGeorge

    SGroupGeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I find it a bit hard to configure AutoSSL on some subdomains.

    I've so far done the following

    1. Enabled cPanel AutoSSL provider
    2. Added AutoSSL on the user packages (it was already there)
    3. Run AutoSSL for all users
    4. Looked a the logs. I can see the following
    but also
    It's been a while since i did the above, but i cannot seem to find the SSL on WHM or cPanel.

    I also tried installing cPanel Store as a Market Provider Manager but didn't make any difference.

    Looking at Manage AutoSSL - Documentation - cPanel Documentation did not provide any instructions that i haven't applied already.

    I'm probably missing something here, but i was expecting the SSL certificates to appear under SSL/TSL on the user's cPanel.

    Any ideas or instructions will be much appreciated.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    This message suggests the subdomain does not resolve to a valid IP address. Could you verify the that particular subdomain resolves to the IP address associated with the cPanel account?

    Thank you.
     
  3. SGroupGeorge

    SGroupGeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Yes, this is for www.subdomain.website.com but i don't really use that. I only need it without the www which is the first log. Would it not work just on the non-www?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here's the relevant section of the AutoSSL document:

    Could you verify if the non-www version of the subdomain was secured?

    Thank you.
     
  5. SGroupGeorge

    SGroupGeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    How do i check if the domain is secured? The main domain has its own SSL which is paid for and therefore should be secured. That SSL also covers www.domain.com.

    We would like to secure the subdomains of it however, so https://subdomain.domain.com and we don't need the www version for those.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you able to access the subdomain via the "https" URL in your browser's address bar?

    Thank you.
     
  7. SGroupGeorge

    SGroupGeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, although i get a browser warning with regards to the missing certificate and if i ignore it, i get to the main domain's page.

    When i install a self-signed SSL, it works fine although a bad issuer warning is coming up on the browser.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page