The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Configuring DNS stuff for a new server

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Heritz, May 10, 2007.

  1. Heritz

    Heritz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all,

    I just bought a dedicated machine with the LayeredTech guys. As you might know, this is a self-managed server, so I have to put everything in order by myself.

    I am so confused with the DNS stuff so I dont know where to start.

    I want "hostromo.com" to be the main domain for my server, and the hostname to be "server.hostromo.com". Also, I want to have my own ns1.hostromo.com and ns2.hostromo.com.

    So, to start, in my domain registrar I set up ns1.hostromo.com as primary nameserver and ns2.hostromo.com as secondary nameserver.

    Now... what should I configure in my WHM to make it work?

    I am so damn confused with this DNS stuff, I could really really really use some link or good information to learn about this.

    Thanks a lot guys for your help!
     
  2. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Hello,

    First you'll want to create A records for ns1/ns2.hostromo.com if you haven't done that. Then under WHM in Basic cPanel/WHM Setup you want to specify those are your primary and secondary name servers. It's also a good idea to have reverse DNS records (PTR) setup for the DNS servers as well.

    That's all I had to do in order to get things working. Then just make sure that all the domains you have pointing to the server have ns1/ns2.hostromo.com set as their DNS servers with the registrar.

    Regards,

    Jesse
     
  3. Heritz

    Heritz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Oh... :D

    And how do I create new A records for the NS1 and NS2?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  4. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO

    In WHM under DNS Functions you can "Edit DNS Zone". Just edit the hostromo.com domain to include those two host names and IPs.
     
  5. Heritz

    Heritz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, its done.

    But its still not working. I think its because I have two nameservers IP that I cant delete. In WHM under "Networking Setup" / Nameserver IPs there are two names that I cant delete:

    72.36.237.242 ~ NS1.YOUR-HOSTING-SUPPORT.COM
    72.36.237.244 ~ NS2.AREA51-HOSTING.COM

    Actually, the main IP for my server is 72.36.237.242. But when I try to delete those entries I got this message:

    Sorry, the nameserver ip 72.36.237.242 cannot be removing since it is still registered with an ICANN register.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Under Tweak Settings there should be an option to disable whois lookups on name server IPs... give that a shot. And just so you know, there's no real use for that Nameserver IPs function that I'm aware of.
     
  7. Heritz

    Heritz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Excellent, now I can detele those entries and I just configured two A records for my 72.36.237.242 and 72.36.237.243. Lets wait and see how it works!

    You have helped me a lot, thanks!!!
     
  8. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Awesome! I hope it works for you, and I'm always happy to help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page