Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Configuring multiple sub-domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Justin Furnas, Apr 19, 2018.

  1. Justin Furnas

    Justin Furnas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Sorry if this is in the wrong place, I couldn't find a configuration specific section of the forums.

    I have a cpanel server installed. On it, I have a domain. We'll call it example.com

    There is also a virtualhost on it for a user, we'll call exampleuser.

    The main served folder for example.com (and www.example.com) is /home/exampleuser/public_html

    inside whm, 2 subdomains were created for this domain.

    drive.example.com

    and manage.example.com

    The home directories for these two subdomains are /home/exampleuser/public_html/drive and /home/exampleuser/public_html/manage

    The problem I am running into, is if I go to manage.example.com, it appears to be conflicting with the root of the example.com domain, and that .htaccess appears to be rewriting the domain to www.manage.example.com

    Is there a way I can configure cpanel (for this account/domain only) to use sub-directories for all the sites? (The main site inside public_html/main for example), and the sub-domains still inside of their sites? I tried changing the values in /var/cpanel/userdata/example/example.com but after rebuilding and restarting the site was no longer accessible. (Gave a 403 error and a couple other things). I need to have the .htaccess in place on the main site, so I can't just remove it.
     
  2. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    These are called DocumentRoots. That will help with terminology better later on.

    The best solution is to create your subdomains with DocumentRoots outside of the public_html folder, i.e.

    drive.example.com with a DocumentRoot of /home/exampleuser/drive.example.com

    manage.example.com with a DocumentRoot of /home/exampleuser/manage.example.com

    I actually believe this is the default behavior in cPanel when you create a subdomain now.

    This way your subdomains are not interfered with the .htaccess file in /home/exampleuser/public_html
     
  3. Justin Furnas

    Justin Furnas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have the most recent version of cPanel, and when I create subdirectories it doesn't do this. The root it starts at is inside of the 'public_html' directory, and I can't go back to the previous directory.

    Is there a specific thing I need to configure to fix it so that it works that way, and can I safely reconfigure my current subdomains to use that new structure without breaking them?
     
  4. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What version of cPanel are you using?

    Do you have root access to this server? Or are you just a cPanel user?
     
  5. Justin Furnas

    Justin Furnas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, I have full root access.

    I'm usually very technical, I am just not when it comes to cpanel configuration .
     
  6. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Log into your WHM, click on Tweak Settings, look for the Domains section. Is the option Restrict document roots to public_html on or off?
     
    Justin Furnas likes this.
  7. Justin Furnas

    Justin Furnas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Right now, it's set to 'On'.

    When changing it, I am able to edit my subdomains to point to /whatever.example.com, except now when doing that I get a 403 error on all of the sites. (After moving the files to the new directory).

    Nevermind, this appears to have fixed it.
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Justin Furnas

    To confirm disabling Restrict document roots to public_html as suggested by @sparek-3 resolved your issue once you moved the sites?


    Thank you,
     
  9. Justin Furnas

    Justin Furnas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It appears to have, yes .
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,


    Thank you for updating us @Justin Furnas ! I'm glad you were able to find a solution.
     
Loading...

Share This Page