Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Configuring subdomains/add ons

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Martin01A, May 28, 2018.

  1. Martin01A

    Martin01A Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

    New here and my first post so I should confess my technical ability/knowledge is right next to zero (noob). I looked through previous posts but couldn't the answers I'm looking for. It's possible no one is silly enough to ask these questions.

    Here's my situation. I bought a domain name and server space from a host so I'm a retail consumer/cpanel user. I got my business website up with minimal trouble. Then I bought another domain to pursue a hobby and added that as a add on/subdomain. That's OK too.

    Then I thought I could a help a friend by hosting their website as well (seeing as my server space is already paid for and I barely use any of my bandwidth allowance).

    The questions I have are: 1/ How do/can I restrict access to my sites/folders/files from the 2nd add on/subdomain? (When I did a trial run and logged in to the subdomain/add on, I saw they could go up levels in file manager and see my files including access to business/private emails etc.) and 2/ Can their site "stand alone" with access to its own cpanel through their log in?

    TIA,

    Martin
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,072
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Martin01A

    By design, any subdomain/addon domain is accessible to the main domain and vice versa this is because they're all set up within the same account. In order to restrict access between them, you'd need to create separate accounts for each domain/subdomain.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Martin01A

    Martin01A Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you. Will start reading up on how to do that.
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,072
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please let us know if you have any questions, concerns or need any help at all!


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dstana

    dstana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you've only got cpanel level account access, you're not going to be able to do that.

    If you're not comfortable with your friend having access to everything, you won't be able to host their site.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice