The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused over various updates

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DavidR, Dec 22, 2004.

1. DavidR

DavidR Well-Known Member

I'm relatively new to Linux having come from a Windows hosting background. I will be asking some questions for a bit so please bear with me! I will research each question before asking.

I am confused about the update options availabe in WHM. Under "Cpanel/WHM Update Preferences" we have:

1. cPanel/WHM Updates
    2. cPanel Package Updates
    3. Security Package Updates

Then under "Software" we have:

4. Update Server Software
    5. Update System Software
    6. Update Backend Scripts

Ok, I think I understand #1 to be the cPanel/WHM application itself and I have it set for manual/stable. However, what then is #2 in comparison (and why is it separate)? For that matter, what is the difference between these and 4,5,6? #3 I can guess but I still don't know what software it covers. Could someone give a brief explanation of what differentiates these choices and perhaps what they actually apply to? I know you can't list each app (though if there *is* a list please let me know) but I need some logical reference to help me wrap my mind around it.

Thanks!

David

2. haze

haze Well-Known Member

1. cPanel/WHM Updates
    - Allows for updates of the cPanel & WHM software itself.

2. cPanel Package Updates
    - updates for software that cpanel installs that are otherwise not provided by your OS vendor such as mySQL4, proftpd, exim, etc, etc.

3. Security Package Updates
    - Updates from your OS vendor. For instance if you run redhat, any errata updates for services / programs installed on your system and released by redhat will be allowed to install on your system. Assuming you're running redhat or redhat based OS. Same goes for other OS's.