The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confusion how to use cpbackup with NAS

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by busterkat, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. busterkat

    busterkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    I need to do a full backup of my server prior to upgrading redhat and cpanel.

    What I don't understand is how to set up cpbackup to backup to the NAS.

    There's no problem with backing up to the /backup directory but what I want is to backup to the NAS.
    The NAS is visible from the root. Does cp mount it automatically? Do I need to mount it manually?

    I used:

    Code:
     mount -t cifs //nasxyz.service.abc.com/xxxxxxx-x -o username=xx xxxxx-1,password=blahblah /backup/
    Backup is enabled in WHM.

    Also I tried:

    Code:
    [root@server1 cpbackup]# /scripts/cpbackup --force
    [cpbackup] Process started in background.
    [cpbackup] Log file: /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/1364244741.log
    [root@server1 cpbackup]# cd //
    [root@server1 //]# cd usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup
    [root@server1 cpbackup]# ls
    1364239942.log	1364240134.log	1364240861.log	1364244741.log
    [root@server1 cpbackup]# cat 1364244741.log
    [cpbackup] Started at Mon Mar 25 16:52:21 2013
    [backupmount] Setting up mount
    [backupmount] running: /bin/mount /backup
    mount: can't find /backup in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
    [backupmount] running: /bin/mount -o remount,rw /backup
    mount: can't find /backup in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
    [cpbackup] Backup failed! /backup is not mounted!
    [root@server1 cpbackup]# 
    Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks!!

    WHM 11.32.6 (build 3)
    REDHAT Enterprise 4 x86_64 standard on server1
     
  2. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should mention the exact mounted directory name/path of the NAS in WHM >> Configure backup. By default cPanel will look for /backup directory. If NAS is mounted to some other location, correct it in configure backup.

    Cheers!!!
     
  3. busterkat

    busterkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    Thank you.

    I did that, put /nasxyz.service.abc.com/ in to the BACKUPDIR field in the backupform, got the Backup configuration saved!. Nothing happened. Nothing in the nas and nothing in /backup/cpbackup (thought I'd should check there just in case.

    Any ideas?
     
  4. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is it mounted? Whats the output of

    Is it showing that the backup drive is mounted?

    Cheers!!!
     
  5. busterkat

    busterkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    Arun,

    filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda5 9.9G 361M 9.0G 4% /
    /dev/sda1 99M 21M 74M 22% /boot
    none 1005M 0 1005M 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda7 198G 5.0G 183G 3% /home
    /dev/sda8 1012M 34M 927M 4% /tmp
    /dev/sda2 9.9G 5.3G 4.2G 56% /usr
    /dev/sda3 9.9G 1.3G 8.1G 14% /var
    /tmp 1012M 34M 927M 4% /var/tmp
    //nas301.service.networklayer.com/zzzzzzz-1
    36T 35T 1.4T 97% /backup
    //nas301.service.networklayer.com/zzzzzzz-1
    36T 35T 1.4T 97% /backup

    It is now. I had to add trust to/from the the nas in the APF config. I'm going to try to force the backup now using cpbackup --force

    root@server1 /]# /scripts/cpbackup --force
    [cpbackup] Process started in background.
    [cpbackup] Log file: /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/1364927294.log
    [root@server1 /]# /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/1364927294.log

    is there some way to monitor progress?
     
    #5 busterkat, Apr 2, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  6. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes. You can monitor the progress. Just tail the log file.

    Cheers!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page