Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Connect .net app to mysql database

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by hql, Jan 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. hql

    hql Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Im trying to connect my .net application to the mysql database remotely, ive added the respective IP addresses to allow connections from, ive opened port 3306 in CSF, what do I enter for hostname, am I correct in assuming that the servers IP address should be the hostname, followed by database name, user and password?

    Sorry im a bit new to all of this so am lost

    I keep getting this error: "The underlying provider failed on ConnectionString"
     
    #1 hql, Jan 21, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2017
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you confirm the remote IP address was added via the Remote MySQL option in cPanel?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. hql

    hql Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes they have been, port 3306 has also been in opened up in csf, is there a way to test connectivity other than our app?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    You could try connecting to a database on the cPanel server from another remote server or your own local workstation with another application to verify if it works properly. If it works with another application, then the issue is likely related to the individual application you are using.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. hql

    hql Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What's the best application to use in mac OS X to verify this or windows?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice