The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting main web page with forum from another account.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wmvaux, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. wmvaux

    wmvaux Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I am hosting 2 accounts.

    One has been running for close to 5 years and the other is new which I hope to transfer the original forum to it in the future.

    Currently I have my main web page in the original account with the file index.html

    I have an updated web page which I want to use and I have that on the new account. There is no forum set up with the new account. I made the web page and have zipped it up and extracted it on the new account.

    How do I get my original account to see the new one?

    The reason why I have it on the new one it's it's clean and easier to work with. I don't want to go over the original one as it might be messy.

    Do I need a forum installed in the new account to be able to read the files or is there a setting in the original account I can adjust?
     
  2. wmvaux

    wmvaux Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Is there a php file that has the main webpage details in it.... like the index.html
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What software are you using for the forum?
     
  4. wmvaux

    wmvaux Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    vBulletin 3.7
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In includes/config.php you'll find what you seek I believe.
     
  6. wmvaux

    wmvaux Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I couldn't see anything there that related to the main web page
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Let's start over here, I must be misunderstanding you.

    What is it, exactly, that you're trying to do?
     
  8. wmvaux

    wmvaux Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm hosting a new account. No forum has been set up yet, but I have created a web page that I want to use on my other account that I am hosting which does have a forum.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Place it in your public_html.

    yourdomain.com/index.html
    Is the same as:

    home/wmvaux/public_html/index.html


    HTH!
     
  10. wmvaux

    wmvaux Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    It doesn't work, I've tried it twice. That's why I'm wondering if there needs to be a forum installed there for it to work. I was hoping it could work on it's own.
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Does the domain.com open in your browser? If yes what do you see? If you upload an index.html as mentioned and open your domain.com do you see that index.html?

    Without more details here, it's a bit tough to guess at what you're trying to do.
     
Loading...

Share This Page