The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

connecting to a mysql server running on https from netbeans running on windows

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by throne, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. throne

    throne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nigeria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hello everyone, i have no idea on how to remotely connect to a mysql database backed-up on the cpanel on a https from my netbeans IDE running on windows. i have tried the steps written but i still have problem. i am void of understanding, i'm in need of dear help. thanks
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are you attempting to connect to a MySQL database that's hosted on the cPanel server? If so, simply add the IP address that you want to connect remotely via "cPanel >> Databases >> Remote MySQL":

    Remote MySQL

    Thank you.
     
    throne likes this.
  3. throne

    throne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nigeria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your prompt response sir. i tried following your instruction. i located the cpanel option but cant find the databases option that would have led me to remote mysql option. i have a picture attached. if you need any more information just let me know. thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are logged in via Web Host Manager. The equivalent option in WHM is located at:

    "WHM Home » SQL Services » Additional MySQL Access Hosts"

    Thank you.
     
    throne likes this.
  5. throne

    throne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nigeria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks
    Thank you! i was able to add my ip address in the box. but each time i try accessing the database from netbeans is flags an error. i have tried different parameters of hostname,port using the same username and password of the cpanel account but still to no avail. i dont know if you may be able to help with that as well. attached is a screen shot. thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  6. throne

    throne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nigeria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i have another piece of information but don't know if its gonna be useful anyway. the mysql is hosted as localhost on the cpanel.still having issues connecting. thanks
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to access MySQL over port 3306, not over the WHM port of 2087. Also, ideally you should login as the database username, and ensure that database username is added to the database via the "MySQL Databases" option within cPanel of the account.

    Thank you.
     
    throne likes this.
  8. throne

    throne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nigeria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    okay...
    Thanks for your effort. i have created the user and password on the database. i have searched the MYSQL Databases uption within the cpanel of the account but cant find. i am logged in as WHM.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You have to login to to cPanel, not Web Host Manager. Browse to "List Accounts" in Web Host Manager and click on the cPanel icon next to the account to access cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
    throne likes this.
  10. throne

    throne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nigeria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    it seems there was no user created on the database! thanks.i have now created a user, gave it a password and granted all privileges to it. you have really helped me far but when i try connecting the netbeans using the newly created credentials i still get the same error as the previous. is there something else i am doing wrong?? thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  11. throne

    throne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nigeria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    IT HAS WORKED BROTHER!!!! IT HAS WORKED!!!! i removed the https:// in the host name. thanks. you are the best
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  13. boomers07

    boomers07 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    i also have same problem. how to solve it. help me
     

    Attached Files:

  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is port 3306 open in your server's firewall rules?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page