The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting to MySQL from an external server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gallot, Mar 1, 2004.

  1. gallot

    gallot Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    If I am going to add Access Host under the MySQL in cPanel, what should be the hostname to use when the external server or domain will connect to the MySQL db?
     
  2. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi gallot,

    You can add domain name or IP number of the host that you wish to add as the hostname in the Host field.

    Regards, :(
     
  3. mass_gencliq

    mass_gencliq Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have big error:(

    I added ips like 88.%.%.%, and like 88.229.145.18.
    And tried to connect from external site and program, it didn't work.:(
    I added ips to Access Hosts list but again, it didn't work.

    What must i do?????
     
  4. carlosferns2004

    carlosferns2004 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    india
    Hi

    Hello

    Very simple just add % instead of ipaddress






    Enjoy

    Regards
    Carlos
     
  5. plexihosting

    plexihosting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Also make sure the user you are using to connect has the appropriate privileges granted for the database you are connecting to. You can create a database user then assign that user privileges using the MySQL portion of cPanel or the GRANT statement as root MySQL user from the MySQL command line client. GRANT syntax is detailed in the MySQL online manuals.
     
  6. mass_gencliq

    mass_gencliq Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    i did them but again it didn't work:(
     
  7. mass_gencliq

    mass_gencliq Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i solved..

    I looked all settings but there was no wrong setting.
    Then i added the same user to the same db, then it worked.
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In some recent builds, the access is being granted to the database server, but tnot to any specific databases. Check your the db table in the mysql database. Make certain your user can access the database from your specified host. A query like the following should work:
    Code:
    SELECT User FROM db WHERE Host ='put your host name here';
    
    In the output look for a match to your user name.
     
  9. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I noticed this, an found I had to reapply user access to each database to allow a new external IP. Are you saying this change is intentional, or that it is a bug?
     
Loading...

Share This Page