The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting to Remote Server Failed: Unable

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by crazyaboutlinux, Mar 25, 2009.

  1. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi

    we just want to move some domains from other hosting co. to my

    WHM >> Transfers >> Copy multiple accounts/packages from another server

    but it gives me some error like :
    Connecting to Remote Server Failed: Unable to connect to 74.200.76.4:22: Connection refused

    then i asked that co. for Remote SSH port: & they said we don't know this thing

    so please help how can i move the domain
    how can i know Remote SSH port

    thanks
    Nilesh
     
  2. Kevinfrom

    Kevinfrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You will have to contact that host as only they will know what port SSH is running on or they may have to allow the IP your connecting from access.
     
  3. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is there any other way to transfer the domains ?

    Regards,
    Nilesh
     
  4. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    still not updation

    hello,

    is there anyone @ cPanel can short out this issue ??

    Nilehs
     
  5. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make a backup on the old server, ftp to new server and then restore on the new server.

    Ron
     
  6. big_bull

    big_bull Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    better to backup all domains, place backup copy in some folder, and use rsync to copy all backup files to another server.

    Best option....is rsync
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you don't have root access on the server you are migrating accounts from, you will be unable to use this feature.
     
  8. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have root access & SSH port, however i am getting the same error.
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The first thing I recommend doing in this situation is making sure your one server can SSH to the other server. The easiest way to test this is to SSH into the server you are migrating data to. Then from that server, SSH to the server you are migrating data from. It is important you SSH from the one server to another, just SSHing directly from your machine to both servers will not properly test anything.

    Let me know if you can SSH from one server to another, but WHM is still giving you issues with transfers.
     
  10. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanelDavidG;504613]The first thing I recommend doing in this situation is making sure your one server can SSH to the other server. The easiest way to test this is to SSH into the server you are migrating data to. Then from that server, SSH to the server you are migrating data from. It is important you SSH from the one server to another, just SSHing directly from your machine to both servers will not properly test anything.

    Let me know if you can SSH from one server to another, but WHM is still giving you issues with transfers.

    how can i do this ?????

    see i have 2 dedicated servers & i have completed SSH & root access

    whenever i try move domain from server A to server B it gives me error as it mentioned in this thread already

    but when i try to move any domain from server B to server A & its moving successfully.

    hope this clear
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you familiar with using SSH to connect to a server?
     
  12. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Okay, just making sure since I know not everyone knows how to use SSH.

    What you do is first SSH to the IP address of the server you are migrating accounts to. Now, once you're logged into the console on that server, type the SSH command on that server so you can connect to the IP address of the server you are migrating accounts from.

    Do you understand? If not, please let me know where you are confused.
     
  14. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    there is no confusion

    i did below

    1. /scripts/pkgacct <account name >
    2. scp -P 1234 /home/packaged account root@secondserverip :/home/

    then login server B & run below

    scripts/restorepkg user name here

    scp -p (if you are behind SSH port)

    & i have done successfully.
     
    #14 crazyaboutlinux, Apr 24, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2009
  15. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hmm, okay. Since that worked properly but the WHM mechanism is not working, I recommend letting our technical analysts take a look at this for you: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit - they will be able to diagnose the cause of the connection refused transfer issues.
     
  16. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM mechanism is also working properly now
     
Loading...

Share This Page