Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting with SSH issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by emptyopen, Nov 1, 2016.

Tags:
  1. emptyopen

    emptyopen Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    japan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi, I'm pretty new to website design/hosting/etc.

    I'm having issues SSHing into the godaddy file system, if that makes sense. I've been working to get git working with the website source files, and I'm stuck here. It seems I need SSH to set up git.

    The weird thing is I am able to WinSCP into my site no problem. Well, I had some difficulty with that but was eventually able to do so with the following parameters:
    Code:
    Hostname: website.com
    Port number: 21
    File protocol: FTP, no encryption
    Username: username@website.com
    Password: password
    
    Now, when I try to SSH into website.com with PuTTY, I keep running into brick walls. I've enabled SSH on GoDaddy. Here's the PuTTY configuration:
    Code:
    Hostname: website.com
    Port number: 22
    Settings/Connection/Data/Auto-login username: tried both 'username' and 'username@website.com'
    Settings/Connection/SSH/Auth/private key file: tried both with and without RSA file downloaded from GoDaddy
    
    Whenever this is run, I get a PuTTY Fatal Error: Server unexpectedly closed network connection. The log info from the PuTTY window is as follows (website and IP changed):
    Code:
    2016-11-02 12:34:12    Looking up host "website.com"
    2016-11-02 12:34:12    Connecting to xxx.xxx.xx.xxx port 22
    2016-11-02 12:34:19    Server unexpectedly closed network connection
    
    Any ideas why WinSCP would work but SSH wouldn't?
     
    #1 emptyopen, Nov 1, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's possible your hosting provider has not enabled SSH access on your account. Reach out to their support team to see if that's the case, and let us know if you have any additional questions.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page