The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

constant login prompt

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by wiredgeorge, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. wiredgeorge

    wiredgeorge Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have been using cPanel for quite awhile. Generally use Squirrelmail. Friday, Jan 18, I lost my browser window after making a mistaken keystroke combo and after opening browser to get back to webmail, I am constantly asked to login. I have licensed version of Windows Vista Business. I use FF 3.5.7. This issue only occurs on my business computer and not others. I am positive it is a local issue.

    I first cleared cookies and cache and rebooted. No effect
    I reinstalled FF 3.5.7. No effect
    I switched to IE8 w/current updates. No effect.
    I reinstalled O/S going back to restore point two days before problem. No effect
    I have clicked "remember password". No effect
    I have tried Horde and Roundcube interfaces. No effect

    The only other site where I am having this problem is this forum where I am prompted for userid/passwd every time I attempt to do something and got this note through by killing login prompt constantly. It is as though the server remember I am logged in although I am. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

    lesho@truevine.net (home email not effected)
     
  2. wiredgeorge

    wiredgeorge Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, didn't mention previously but have turned off firewall and tried to use webmail with same effect... constant login prompts AFTER I have logged in. One more bit of info:

    Just logged into cPanel using mydomain.com:2095/ (not actual domain name of my site) and these are the cookies:

    webmailsession
    webmailrelogin
    logintheme
    lang
    langedit

    While I sit at the control panel, the login prompt continues to pop up. When I kill the prompt (not cancel but hit the X at top-right) it disappears and I can begin loading mail by clicking on the squirrelmail (or other mail tool) but it always hangs when multiple login prompts interrupt the mail tool from fully loading. I could sure use some help and your help would be most appreciated. This is my business email and the guy who hosts my site/email isn't able to help. TIA. wiredgeorge
     
  3. Silent Ninja

    Silent Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    It happens to me too with 11.25.0-RELEASE_43286


    It seems to be asking the password again for each frame and each image it loads. I've tested it on Chrome and IE8.

    Once you've entered the password for each one it doesn't ask for it again, but it's really anoying to type a password like 30 times each day.

    Is there any cause for this or any way that it could be resolved ?
     
  4. Silent Ninja

    Silent Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Any news on the subject ?

    It also happens on webmail, by each frame that's loaded and each image.
     
  5. Silent Ninja

    Silent Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    BUMP

    I've noticed that it doesn't happen to all our users, but I've seen it on 3 machines. I've logged in via VNC to the users computer, and tested it; it does happen, it's true.

    I don't think that it's some software based issue because it happened on both IE and Firefox. I think that it's about some of the new Security settings on "Tweak Settings", because some of them are auto-enabled and it only happens with cPanel 11.25 (I've done a rollback to 11.24 on one of our web-servers and the issue got fixed); because one of them was using a Proxy and other one has a Linux Router, and maybe it has something to do about the IP check or something related to reverse dns... something like that.

    Please check that out and tell me if there's something that I could change to fix that.
     
    #5 Silent Ninja, Mar 2, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  6. mrnabo

    mrnabo Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Can't figure this out at all - I'm assuming it's got something to do with my Keychain Access utility (I'm on a Mac) based on what I've read, but I've tried to reset that and nothing seems to be helping.

    Every time I try to log on to cPanel (Hostgator webhosting package), I get continually prompted to enter my login details. However, the details I put in are correct because cPanel loads in the background despite being constantly interrupted by the authorization / login dropdown alert.

    I've tried this on multiple browsers (Firefox 3.5, Safari 4, Opera and Chrome), but I get the same result which has led me to suspect it's to do with Keychain Access as I believe that can cause problems.

    Is there anything else I can try as I'm wits end here?

    Thanks
     
  7. mrnabo

    mrnabo Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone?

    Thanks
     
  8. brianc

    brianc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Bump

    Same problem here. Only affects the periodic user but when it happens it is a pain. Is this issue possibly related to the browser settings that a user has?
     
  9. Silent Ninja

    Silent Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    I don't think so, I've tested it on Chrome and IE on one failing machine and it was the same result on each browser.

    I believe that it's due to some proxying that the ISP is doing that the cPanel don't detect it properly so it thinks that the cookie is not correct; or perhaps something about the new security setups about referers and such is affecting here.
     
  10. brianc

    brianc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    A client reported this problem affecting I.E. and Firefox.
     
  11. Silent Ninja

    Silent Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    As I've said before, it's not a browser issue; it depends on the clients computer or the internet connection service. It may happen with any browser, but only on given PC's, and not to every one.
     
  12. infusionstudios

    infusionstudios Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm running into the same problem on Firefox 3.6 on PC.
     
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does this problem persist when you run Firefox in safe mode?
     
  14. mrnabo

    mrnabo Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem

    Sorry to raise an old post, but this is driving me mad.

    I am constantly asked for my login details and I'm sure it's to do with my ISP because it doesn't happen on the same computer on my home network, but it does on my work connection.

    Furthermore, other computers in the office have the same problem.

    Is there anything I can do other than enter long (probably futile) discussions with my ISP that I need to access Cpanel and can't because of their set up?

    Thanks,

    mn
     
  15. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Friendly Moderator Note

    I am merging this smaller thread with a larger thread that seems to have more insight on this issue.
     
  16. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For those experiencing this issue, does this issue persist when logging into cPanel using http://cpanel.example.com (where example.com is your domain)? Note, not all servers will have this capability enabled.

    This is not a fix, just a method of diagnosis.
     
  17. morecowbell

    morecowbell Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    While I am not able to try the cpanel.example.com I have tried many other forms involving switching between http: and https:, port 2082 and 2083 as well as using the IP instead of the URL.

    Like mrnabo this problem only persists when I'm on my work network and does not seem to happen when I work from home. Getting asked for login details 20 times is kind of a drag!
     
  18. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you elaborate on what you mean by "not able to try" - is this capability not available on the cPanel/WHM server server you are using? I ask, because it is very likely this is disabled for security reasons.

    The purpose of this test I proposed is to see if the IP address connecting to the cPanel/WHM server was constantly changing. However, since cpanel., whm. and webmail. report the IP address of the server (which is unchanging) rather than the IP address of your connection, if you could login via cpanel. and not via /cpanel, it would point to a possible network-related cause of this issue.

    However, because of this quirk in how cpanel., whm. and webmail. works, we recommend disabling this functionality to prevent stolen cookies from being functional.

    A stolen cookie, which is essentially an authenticated cookie coming from a different IP address than the original login for the current session, would simply result in another login to begin a new session. If your IP was constantly changing/rotating, this would explain the perpetual sequence of login windows and be consistent with the cause of this being network-related rather than browser-related.
     
  19. morecowbell

    morecowbell Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do believe the cpanel.example.com login style is not enabled on our server. The places where I am seeing the "constant login prompt" is when I access cpanel in the following manor

    Code:
    http://www.example.com:2082/
    http://www.example.com:2082/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/index.php
    I could try to enable the cpanel.example.com style of login.. where would I make the change to enable that?

    I do believe that my scenario is due to the IP address changing at work and hence why I do not have this issue at home. The network at my office has 2 connections to the outside world and does toggle between the 2.

    Hope this info is helpful and let me know how to try to cpanel.example.com scenario. Thanks!
     
  20. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Note, you will need to enable mod_proxy in EasyApache for this to work.

    In Tweak Settings:
    If this treats the symptoms you are experiencing, then this is caused by the IP check on cookie-based logins, which is triggered by the following Tweak Setting:

    Disabling this setting will pose a security risk to your server, but would resolve this issue if the changing IP address is indeed the cause of this issue.

    The aforementioned tweak settings are what is essentially meant by "proxydomins."
     
Loading...

Share This Page