The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

controlpanel in URL

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jay321, Feb 10, 2004.

  1. jay321

    jay321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All

    I've been with a very fine web hosting service for several years with a reseller's account.

    One of my resold accounts is using http://phpwebsite.appstate.edu/ for a CMS program.

    The software includes an internal, MySQL driven, control panel function, with the control panel (.php) modules sitting in a directory named 'controlpanel'.

    If a users clicks a menu item to change his/her password, the user is routed to the controlpanel with a URL directive:

    http://www.thedominname.com/controlpanel.

    Wanna guess what happens?

    CPanel thinks it is being accessed, and writes a CPanel log-in pop-up box in the browser window, causing the user total confusion.

    I Help Desk'ed a tech, who alerted me of this problem, after a ton of head scratching.

    Conversations with other ASU CMS installations, some with web hosts using CPanel, are not experiencing this problem.

    My web host is working on the problem, but as yet has not offered any solution.

    Any suggestions?

    TIA
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Cpanel redirects /controlpanel to the sites cpanel with an entry in the httpd.conf file. If you put in a subdirectory it won't be affected.
     
  3. jay321

    jay321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorry squirrel, tried putting the source files in a folder off of public_html, doesn't make any difference.
     
  4. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. jay321

    jay321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #5 jay321, Feb 10, 2004
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2004
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That is weird because as I posted at VO, I did the test myself and it was only redirected if it was a root directory of the website. When I put it in a subdirectory it didn't get redirected.
     
  7. jay321

    jay321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yep, it's wierd, maybe we are on a different server, with a different CPanel compile?
     
  8. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    These settings are all controled in httpd.conf If you have access to that, you could remove the /controlpanel redirect - I doubt anyone uses it.
     
  9. jay321

    jay321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm on a virtual server, and would have to read-up on how to access and change the file.
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Definately different server since I'm on my own.

    It pretty much has to mean the entry in the httpd.conf file is different. On a virtual server you have no control of it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page