The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

convert add-on to "real" domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ffeingol, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    We've having a slight issue and I'm wondering how everyone else deals with this. We have a client that has "a.com" as a main domain and "b.com" as an add-on domain. The would now like to create "b.com" as an actual domain. Because we have DNS clustered we can't add "b.com" on any of our servers because the DNS exists.
     
  2. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Wow, quite surprised that no one else has run into this issue (or at least willing to share).
     
  3. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Removing/unparking b.com as an addon domain should remove its dns, even if it does not, you can delete its zone from the cluster from "WHM >> DNS Functions >> Delete a DNS Zone". After that rename the main domain from a.com to b.com from "WHM >> Account Functions >> Modify an Account". You can later move the data from ./public_html/addon to public_html.
     
  4. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Sorry, I missed one thing. We can't remove the current add-on site or remove the DNS because the site is live. The want "both" sites for a short time so they can develop the new and still keep the old. This would work fine if we could add the site on the second server without adding it to DNS.
     
  5. Stuff4Toys

    Stuff4Toys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Try this...
    Delete b.com and recreate it as an add-on domain with it's own home directory. The DNS will still resolve to the ip address, build your site in b.com's new home folder and Viola :) you new site comes up with a call to www.b.com

    JOhn ><>
     
Loading...

Share This Page