The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting Shared account to IP based account??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by freeva, Feb 10, 2002.

  1. freeva

    freeva Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there a quick way to convert shared IP account into IP based account or reverse???
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    http://support.cpanel.net/obb/read.php?TID=699

    :)
     
  3. freeva

    freeva Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks.. I know how to do it manually. I was hoping cpanel developer could creat a script of some kind inside the WHM. Or perhaps someone has developed some sort of script. With a simple click, you can convert ip to ipless account and reverse.
     
  4. roman

    roman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I feel that this is an important feature to have automated to switch an ip domain to ipless and an ipless domain back to ip...

    Should be done from the Modify An Account in WebHost Manager or a command line script.

    Currently the only way to do it automatically is to remove the account and than re-adding it which of course would cause that user to loose all their settings/and home directory.

    It should update the nameserver and all associated files (httpd.conf, etc).
     
  5. Robert

    Robert Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [quote:a4986e5273][i:a4986e5273]Originally posted by roman[/i:a4986e5273]
    Currently the only way to do it automatically is to remove the account and than re-adding it which of course would cause that user to loose all their settings/and home directory.
    [/quote:a4986e5273]

    tar -cvf & tar -xvf are your friends :)

    Tar the /home dir of your user and then untar when finished.
     
Loading...

Share This Page