Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Copy Account from one server to another

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mark1hos, Oct 18, 2003.

  1. mark1hos

    mark1hos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    We have just had a client signup who is coming from another host with a site over 400MB in size.

    Bascially we would like to know if there is anyway we can grap either the account or a backup of the account from the current hosting providers server to ours and then unzip into their account?

    Thank you for your help
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. linuxman

    linuxman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Are they coming from another Cpanel server? If so the process is very easy.
     
  3. mark1hos

    mark1hos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Yes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. n_kruse

    n_kruse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    SE US
    mark1hos,

    If you have access to the Web Host Manager (WHM) then there is a feature in there to import another Cpanel site. You just need the connection information to the old server.

    If you don't have the access to the WHM is still may be possible with a script or just downloading and uploading after the site is create. But if I did not have access I would contact my NOC or Hosting Company and ask them if they would do it. It happens very quickly and is much easier. We have literally transferred hundreds without a handle of glitches. i.e. losing one connection or the other type of thing. I hope this helps.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. n_kruse

    n_kruse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    SE US
    Sorry I didn't realize I was signed in under the other username. I am also linuxman who ask the question.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice