Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Copy email filters of one email address to second email address

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Tipiford, Sep 28, 2015.

  1. Tipiford

    Tipiford Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have two email addresses that were hijacked by spammers, and would like to reclaim them. Starting with the 1st address, I have eliminated the majority of spam mails by using their country urls, i.e., .eu, .ru, .us, etc. However, more than a hundred had to be specifically excluded as they are .com addresses.
    This has been successful for the most part after only a week or so, and after a month I think I will have, pretty much, complete success (a few are trickling in every two or three days).
    The question then, to simplify reclaiming the 2nd address, is there a way to copy these 100+ filters to the 2nd email address?
    Thanx
     
  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    You should be able to copy:
    Code:
    cp /home/$cpuser/etc/$domain/$emailuser/filter* /home/$cpuser/etc/$domain/$emailuser/
    This will overwrite any current filters you have for user2 just a heads up.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Tipiford

    Tipiford Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanx, but do not see all email addresses at that location (and not the one I want to copy to; I do find the filters in user1, and see all the users in the mail folder).
     
  4. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If there are no filters created for them, then they might not have folders so you would have to create the folders first.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Tipiford

    Tipiford Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanx, Jcats, that resolved the issue. Joy, all is well.
     
  6. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Glad to hear it!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,644
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I'm happy to see the issue was resolved. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice