Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Copy Paste in FileManager Editor Issue

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by rpvw, May 16, 2018.

Tags:
  1. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My desktop computer is :
    CentOS release 6.9 (Final) - Fully patched and up-to-date running KDE desktop
    Firefox ESR 52.7.3 (64-bit)

    Editing a file opened from the file manager in the new editor (NOT the HTML Editor) allows me to type in text but copy/paste does nothing using any of the following methods:

    • Mouse - highlight text and right click to open sub menu and copy, then move mouse cursor to new position and right click to open sub menu and paste.
    • Use the Copy/Paste icons in Firefox itself
    • Use the Kbd short-cut Ctrl+C and then Ctrl+V
    ALL the above methods work perfectly if I switch to the Legacy Editor o_O
     
  2. linux4me2

    linux4me2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I created a new file and was able to duplicate this at first using the regular Edit in Firefox 60.0. After I tried selecting a line of text, then used Shift+Alt+Down Arrow to copy the line down (which worked), all the typical copy-and-paste commands began working, and now I can't reproduce the problem, even if I create a new file.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,245
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @rpvw,

    I've been unable to reproduce this issue on the latest stable releases of Firefox, Chrome, and Safari on MacOS. Have you been able to reproduce this on different browsers and operating systems, or is the issue isolated to Firefox ESR 52.7.3 on CentOS release 6.9 with KDE?

    Can you also verify which version of cPanel is installed on the system you are reproducing this issue on?

    Thank you.
     
  4. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel v70.0.42

    Looks like it's just this ESR release - it all seems to work fine on latest Firefox/Chrome/Safari in my VBox Win7 and 10, and MacOS Sierra
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,245
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Michael is a genius (but don't anyone tell him !).

    I blame it all on Infopro having stolen my spectacles ...... it was the dom.event.clipboardevents.enabled setting that was wrong, and I swear I checked it, and then double checked it :oops: honest gov .......

    All working again with ESR 52.8.0 (64-bit) that they released to the CentOS repo yesterday, and cPanel v70.0.42 (which may be out-of-date already, as I cant seem to keep up with these rapid-fire releases)
     
    Infopro and cPanelMichael like this.
  7. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I frequently get this problem, using Mandriva Linux desktop and curently Firefox 52.08 but previous versions also didn't work. Have resorted to using CTRL C + CTRL V for copy/paste. And yes like you, I never had the problem with the legacy editor :(
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,245
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @kernow,

    Were you able to review the Firefox support URL referenced earlier to see if that helps?

    cannot paste copied text | Firefox Support Forum | Mozilla Support

    Thank you.
     
  9. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,
    Yes I looked at that but we already have the default value set. This problem only occurs when trying to copy/paste in cPanel's editor, everywhere else it works OK. Its not a big problem so I can live with it.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,245
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here are a couple of other pages to review on this matter:

    How to use the Clipboard with certain sites | Firefox Support Forum | Mozilla Support
    Legacy How to Fix the Copy / Paste Error in Firefox - Experts Knowledge Base - Experts

    If possible, you may also want to consider using Firefox ESR version 60.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page