The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copy Script

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cPanelNick, Aug 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please post any problems with WHM's Copy Script in this thread.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is on-going and nothing new, but I'd like to see the copy script maintain the integrity of Add-On domains. When moving them, the main sites DNS is set up properly, but the add-ons are not. We have clients with hundreds of domains and it gets exhausting correcting all of them ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    It doesn't transfer .htaccess files. I had to transfer over 200 accounts recently and didn't know about this until many of my clients started calling...

    Oh, this was from an Alab*nza server.
     
  4. pirania1

    pirania1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    cpanel-> cpanel does not transfer features and packages properly. Also had problems with transferring accounts from old mailman to new mailman.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. beachtrader

    beachtrader Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Cannot root transfer between servers I control and recently receive the following error when using the user/pass option:

    UNLINKED
    Checksum Failure

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cron jobs and Horde settings are not copied. Parked domains cannot be reparked on the new server unless the dns entry is deleted before the domain is moved.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. kcdworks

    kcdworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just did this with an account, and because of the old MySQL bug with usernames with dashes, the databases did not all get transferred correctly.

    Some of them did, but they were all the ones that were created after the dash bug was fixed.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We copied a account over yesterday and it copied ok but it did not set the permissions correctly on the public_html dir. We had to go in and manually do it. Maybe I did this wrong but copy account should have been on shared ip but it set it up on new static ip also.


    Also off topic when you terminate a account in whm it leaves user files in the following directories.

    /etc/valiases/
    /etc/vfilters/
    /etc/proftpd/
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. MrHits

    MrHits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When using the mass transfer, accounts that start with numbers do not transfer. (legacy accounts from 2 years ago, I stopped using accounts with any numbers or dashes in them)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. KevinE

    KevinE Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi there,

    Copying over from a ensim server doesn't transfer email properly. It requires that I create an account on the new site in order to work which seems to add the proper files into the etc directory for the site.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a problem now that needs help.

    The server gives this error:

    Done
    Verifying tarball checksum.....md5sum: /home/cpmove-web-si.tar.gz: No such file or directory
    Checksum Failed.. The filecopy had a problem!

    Strange the file is there?

    I deleted it and tried again but still the same error.

    Once the transfer starts wham the error happens on every account.

    I also tried re-syncing the ftp passwords, updating the scripts, and disabling the firewall, as it suggested in other threads but still the same thing

    Any help is appreciated.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also noticed add-on mailing lists do not get transfered.

    -Charles

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    I also am having problems with the Ensim copy script regarding mail accounts.

    When transferring a site from Ensim 3.1 that has a few mail accounts, the accounts are given paths in /home/username/mail/user1, user2, user3, etc.. When that user logs into Cpanel, on the main page it says Mail accounts: 0/8. But, when they click on Mail and then Add/Remove Accounts, it lists their user accounts that were copied from Ensim. When they try to login to webmail with one of those accounts, they don't see the mail that they had (i.e. inbox messages, and other saved folders).

    The only solution I have found is to copy the mail user directories to a temp dir, delete the mail accounts in Cpanel, re-create them, then copy the mail files (inbox and saved folders) into:

    /home/username/mail/user1 and /home/username/mail/domain.com/user1

    for each mail account with user1 being the name of the mail account.

    Also, sometimes MySQL databases just don't get copied from Ensim, but I haven't looked into that issue as closely as mail. Mail is much more important.. copying the MySQL database manually is not hard.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Some of the main issues, we've faced with cpanel -> cpanel are:

    1. DNS is recreated, rather thank copied, which causes a lot of headaches.

    2. Accounts created with a sub domain would not be created if the mother domain was previously created.

    A feature i'd like to see is an option to copy selected resellers and their clients.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. cass

    cass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Argentina/USA/Mexico
    needed to do it manually cause...

    UNLINKED
    Checksum Failure [[]] [[dccba0c3203cf9329b29154d899595e0]]...trace information follows...


    Dunno... looks like it only have ONE Checksum, other [[]] is empty isn't?

    this is copying account FROM REDHAT to a FREEBSD 4.7 ...

    The file is copied in the /home dir.
    but some error occurs in the middle dunno, while extracting... etc.

    Regards.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    .htaccess files

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Permissions on the www folders, and DNS for addon domains.

    It took a little while for me to figure out why one of my customers was complaining about not getting e-mail....:)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Just found out that the addon domain mailing lists don't get transfered over, either.:(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. rweiss

    rweiss Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Any updates on this or word from cPanel as to when this will work a little better? We'll be moving a bunch of accounts soon -- considering rsycing instead of using the cPanel move utility, just not sure how well that'll work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    .htaccess files get removed anytime you install frontpage. Since frontpage has to be reinstalled one a move the .htaccess files get wiped.

    I can verify the following problems
    1) addon domain mailing lists don't get moved
    2) cron jobs do not get moved.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page