The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying from one server to another - backup never finishes?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Big Zee, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. Big Zee

    Big Zee Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have two servers with WHM/Cpanel - both the latest stable versions. I am trying to copy about 5 website accounts from one server to another.

    As a I was testing the copy function (the one using the "Copy account with account password"), I thought I would try it on the smallest sites first (Note that these are very small sites with just a few files and no DB's) before I tried it with larger sites.

    It seemed to be copying ok up until it was saying "Waiting for the .tar backup to be created". It kept counting down from 60 seconds to check each time if it was created, but it never seemed to complete. I left this going for about half an hour an assumed something was obviously wrong as it was such a small site the backup should have been created almost instantly.

    So I tried it on another site and the same thing happened. Now I go back and try it again on the first site and it just gives me Failed to start the backup on the remote machine (if a previous backup is in progress you will need to wait until it is complete)!


    So it seems that this backup is just trying to get completed, but can't - and now I can't do anything.

    How do I correct things so I can import websites from one server to another?

    Also is there a size limit on the websites that can be imported via this method ? - I have a couple that are resonably large.

    Thanks
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You can try to migrate the domain from one server to another using the "Copy an account from another server" not the 'Copy and account with the account password" from the Transfers section and have a try.
     
  3. Big Zee

    Big Zee Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, but I would like to still know why the 'Copy and account with the account password" is not working - and I am assuming that the copy process is the same - IE a back is automatically made, and if thats the case then I still have the same problem.

    Thanks for replies in advance.
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a ticket. This tool has to jump though quite a few hoops to do a backup so if any condition isn't just about perfect it is very prone to failure.

    I highly recommend copying with the root password or ssh key as it is MUCH more reliable.
     
  5. Big Zee

    Big Zee Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok thanks, I'll open a ticket. In the meantime I hope you can help me with this question:

    One of the sites I am trying to move is a large VB forum (500,000 posts) - could you tell me if there is a limit on the size of a website that can be transferred?
     
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The only size limitation I can think of is that of the physical HDD or applicable storage media (e.g., for the "/home/" directory); it is important to ensure there is sufficient disk space available to generate a full account backup as well as enough disk space on the destination server to extract the full backup and restore the account; you may want to ensure there is available free disk space of at least 1.5 times the size of the account (e.g., to copy all necessary account data into a full backup directory structure then compress it into a gzipped archive). Provided there is enough disk storage space to accomplish the above then it should just be a matter of allowing enough time for the transfer process to complete.
     
Loading...

Share This Page