The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Corrupted Backups not a big deal?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by VeZoZ, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Apparently cPanel believes corrupted backups being generated by /scripts/pkgacct is not a huge deal.

    A bug reported on the 12th is still sitting without a fix to what I believe to be a serious problem. As it stands any backups being generated the mysql portion is not in a usable state.

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=6412

    So we're 5 days now without working backups unless we specifically patch this ourselves.

    So does anyone have any plans on fixing this in the near future? It's not a security problem like horde but I mean backups are pretty important and now that feature is broken...
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Already did I was told it would be fixed once devs push out the next release. If the next release was going to be so long from 2008-03-12 it should have just been released as a bug fix release prior to the major release.

    There are bugs that can't wait until the next set of features are added. I believe this is one them considering how easily it can be fixed and the nature of the problems that arise from this not being fixed.
     
    #3 VeZoZ, Mar 17, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2008
  4. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ya. We have to manually clean some dumps before restoring them for a whole server for a new client.
     
  5. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    Yep and it's pretty annoying

    We're now hitting a week+ since this was introduced with no global fix. That's pretty disappointing considering the component it affects. This isn't something like this functions not fully it's something critical to users no longer works. Now I'm wondering if there is a security issue within cPanel in the future will a fix not be released because of it not being possible to push the fix to stable development currently which is the reasoning for this bug not being fixed in releases yet.
     
  6. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    And here I am getting ready to move an account to a new server... I guess I can't count on CPanel to make this easy...
     
  7. AlexV.

    AlexV. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This issue has been addressed in all builds
    without publishing new builds. On systems set to update automatically,
    they will receive this fix during upcp.

    Otherwise you can simply run '/scripts/upcp --force' manually.
     
Loading...

Share This Page