The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Counter help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lisaviolet, Nov 10, 2013.

  1. lisaviolet

    lisaviolet Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Earlier this year, I noticed my counters weren't working. Turned out the digits I had chosen from the available list were no longer available. This morning, once again, the counters aren't working.

    There are NO digits available in the digit styles. And nothing works in the preview.

    How do I get the digits back?

    Thank you for any help with this.
     
  2. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    1) Counters are so cheesy and low end. Most legit sites quit using them years ago.
    2) No idea what counter you are using but sounds like it is way too complicated. No need to rely on any sort of digits for a counter. Simply have it write the numbers out as plain text and style them however you want. Lots of free counter scripts out there.
    3) You can always write your own script using php/mysql. It is extremely simple. All you need to do is have a table to hold the count and a script to read/increment/print the value.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please check to see if Suexec is enabled on this system with a command such as:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_phpconf --current
    Also, please let us know the ownership values of the following file:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/Count.cgi
    Thank you.
     
  4. lisaviolet

    lisaviolet Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    1) Well, that's awesome news, fits my demographic perfectly. :)

    2) cPanel > Software/Services > CGI Center > Counter (It's really pretty easy if one knows how to fill in forms and copy and paste) :D

    3) I just put that on my bucket list (which at the age of sixty is quite long at this point, I've got so much to do, I'll never die!) :p
     
  5. lisaviolet

    lisaviolet Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for your help, Michael. I did find a fix for it and I'm incredibly embarrassed about how easy it was.

    I have five computers, one laptop, a netbook and a tablet. Which I should have checked from the get-go. Yesterday morning, I went at this a different way. I couldn't reproduce the missing digits on four of them. And on the one I could, the display was there when viewing the pages with Chrome and Firefox.

    That narrowed it down quite a bit. One computer, one browser.

    It was my ad-blocker. Seriously. My ad-blocker. :facepalm:

    So, now my digits are back!

    You can see the counters in action at /http://www.catcam.us (and all the subdomains) if you're interested. The original ones fit the color scheme much better, but they're no longer available.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page