Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cP Release update overwriting cP php.ini w/reg_globals ON

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MaraBlue, May 28, 2008.

  1. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cP Release update overwriting cP php.ini w/reg_globals ON [solved]

    The last 2 cPanel updates, to 11.18.6-RELEASE_24654 and 11.23.1-RELEASE_24893 have overwritten the cPanel php.ini (/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/etc/php.ini) and changed the register_globals back to ON (I had them OFF).

    I verified they were off, took screen shots, upgraded cPanel, then checked and cPanel's PHP register_globals are back on (and my comments were deleted from php.ini, so it's being replaced).

    I can't for the life of me figure why cPanel would want register_globals on (again, this is for cPanel's own internal PHP, but it shouldn't need register_globals on, nor want it).

    Am I missing something, or is this a bug?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 MaraBlue, May 28, 2008
    Last edited: May 29, 2008
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you turn off register globals in Tweak Settings?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Epppp...you kids and your GUI settings. I didn't know there was a setting in WHM, I changed it with vi.

    In "Tweak Settings" there is: cPanel PHP Register Globals (Off is recommended for security reasons), and it's checked. I have to say the wording there isn't too clear, but I'll assume that checked == ON, so I'll uncheck it and see what happens.

    Thanks for the reply!

    EDIT: Apparently it's *not* cPanel overwriting cPanel's php.ini...it's Fantastico.

    http://www.netenberg.com/forum/index.php?topic=6569.0

    From Fantastico's admin panel in WHM:

    Fixed: "register_globals" Bug - http://www.netenberg.com/forum/index.php?topic=6569.0
    Fantastico will add to or create /scripts/postupcp if it doesn't exist. We are adding code which will re-enable register_globals only on the backend copy of PHP that is used solely for cPanel and WHM. An upcoming release of Fantastico will remove this code and turn off register_globals.

    *sigh*
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #3 MaraBlue, May 29, 2008
    Last edited: May 30, 2008
  4. bhd

    bhd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    JNB ZA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yeah, that had me going for a while too. To have it "off" it seems it must be unchecked. The wording is ambiguous.
     
  5. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Glad it's not just me :)

    Seems it's Fantastico overwriting the internal php.ini.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,480
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The wording has been adjusted in the latest release.
     
  7. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Wow, that's awesome. Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice