The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CP setting problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by boris0452, Aug 9, 2005.

  1. boris0452

    boris0452 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    one problem, when I reboot the server, I need to delete all the IPs and then readd them, then my website can be visited, if not, just one website can be visited which is using the base IP!

    my site is bbs.penglaixj.com . www.duoqingbt.com and www.666bt.com


    everytime reboot I need to reset the time zone, I think is the CP setting problem cause my webserver slow!ping the server and Tracieroute, the speed is ok. as I can connect to it very fast, just the webserver seems slow. i think is a problem with the configuration, so what problem is it? does anyone can tell me who have this kinds of experiences!
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Could be a problem with ipaliases. If you run:

    /etc/init.d/ipaliases start

    It may rectify your problem. If it does, add that line to the bottom of /etc/rc.d/rc.local and it should start up the virtual network devices on reboot. Obviously that should run as part of the normal boot sequence, but that may help.
     
  3. shashank

    shashank Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For the time issue you might want to try this.

    Code:
    mv /etc/localtime /etc/localtime.back
    ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/timezonefile /etc/localtime
    hwclock --systohc
    
    Should work I guess if its normal redhat.
     
  4. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have 1 server with the same issue Centos4 and to solve it I added

    /etc/init.d/ipaliases start

    to /etc/rc.local and it appears to have fixed the problem

    on a reboot it appears the /etc/rc.d/rc3.d/ is running ipaliases and the boot log shows the interfaces coming up but once the box finishes rebooting the aliases ips are not active

    adding to the rc.local fixed the problem
     
  5. boris0452

    boris0452 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i did the /etc/init.d/ipaliases start, it appeared:

    Bringing up eth0:1 [ OK ]
    Routing 69.41.253.13 SIOCADDRT: File exists
    [FAILED]
    Bringing up eth0:2 [ OK ]
    Routing 69.41.253.14 SIOCADDRT: File exists
    [FAILED]
    Bringing up eth0:3 [ OK ]
    Routing 69.41.253.15 SIOCADDRT: File exists
    [FAILED]

    my base IP is 69.41.253.12, it didn't show in above, what mistake is it? how to fixed it?please tell me the detail to fix it.
     
    #5 boris0452, Aug 11, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2005
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That just means that the virtual eth controllers were already bound to the IP addresses.
     
  7. boris0452

    boris0452 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    does the IPs got mistake? how to fixed it?
     
  8. boris0452

    boris0452 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I pico the /etc/ips , find the fellow data:

    69.41.253.13:255.255.255.0:69.41.253.255
    69.41.253.14:255.255.255.0:69.41.253.255
    69.41.253.15:255.255.255.0:69.41.253.255


    only 13 to 15, don't hava the base IP 12!
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You'd have to restart the eth0 interface. You can either reboot or do it manually. Manual restart of network always runs the risk of being disconected and not being able to connect again, though:

    /etc/init.d/network restart
    /etc/init.d/ipaliases start


    /etc/ips doesn't contain the main IP address, that file is only for the IP's aliased off of eth0 which the main one won't be - i.e. it's hardcoded in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
     
Loading...

Share This Page