The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpaddon update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sparek-3, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem or if perhaps I have a configuration option missing.

    I noticed the cpaddons has been updated to include phpBB 2.0.21. This was seen from the WHM under Install cPAddon Scripts. However when I log into user's control panel, it is still showing the install version of phpBB to be 2.0.20. The only way I found to get phpBB 2.0.21 to show up as the installable version was to check the box Force Refresh of All cPAddon Sources in the WHM and click on Update Addon Config. After I did this, the install version in user's control panel showed as 2.0.21.

    My question is, is this a required step to get 2.0.21 to show up in user's control panel? Is anyone else having this issue? I would think that this should automatically update for the user's control panel to install 2.0.21 as soon as 2.0.21 is available in cPAddons. It may just be something in my configuration option. If this is the intended way of making these updates available to end users, is there a way to force this update through the shell? I would prefer this rather than having to log into all of our WHMs.

    Just wondering if anyone else is experiencing this problem or not.

    Thanks
     
  2. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't really like to bump my own posts, but I am just curious if anybody else has experienced this issue. Or perhaps nobody has noticed. I'm just curious.
     
  3. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same here.:)
     
  4. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I added a bug entry to Bugzilla concerning this. I wasn't sure if it was a bug or not. I would really hope that the addons are suppose to be updated automatically. But if it turns out that this is just how the system is designed to work, then perhaps it can become an enhancement request.

    The bug is listed at:

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=4341

    If you are experiencing this problem, I encourage you to vote for this bug.
     
  5. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The thing is that WHM "emailed" end users for update, then they login to cPanel, but no where to update on their cPanel. I asked Dan already about it.

    Ref:
    cPanel tickets ID# 142244
     
  6. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think you and I posted at the same time.

    You can see my Bugzilla reference from above. If you hear anything back from Dan, could you report it back to this thread or on the Bugzilla entry?

    Thanks
     
  7. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I guess it's easy to add/include it to nightly upcp. :rolleyes:
     
  8. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Please check your PM box, I pm you about it. I'm not sure if he is ok or not to post his reply.
    I also put this thread to my support ticket to Dan.:)
     
  9. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ok there is some still confusion here:

    a) WHM has XYZ 1.0 installed

    b) User installs XYZ 1.0

    c) WHM updates XYZ 1.2 (manually or automatically, which is the topic of the bugzilla report)

    d) User gets email (if they have it set to receive such notices) that their install of XYZ 1.0 needs to be upgraded to 1.2

    e) they log in to the XYZ page and theri 1.0 install is in the update menu/form.

    In other words that email (User installed instances of the cPAddon) is 100% unrelated to automating the update cPAddon iteself (the thing that users actually install).

    HTH clear up some clutter :)
     
  10. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Dan. The issue that I have is in regards to:

    The WHM is updated to show XYZ 1.2 as being available, but user's control panels are never updated to show XYZ 1.2, regardless of whether the user is set up to receive e-mails or not.

    It looks like some of the files during the nightly upcp are being updated, but not all of them. It looks like the actual XYZ package is being updated to 1.2, but whatever files that the user's control panel is reading, those files are not being updated. I assume these files (or file) simply tells CPanel what the current most version of the XYZ package is and where that package is located on the server. It doesn't look like this is the case.

    For example, it does not look like the file /usr/local/cpanel/cpaddons/cPAddonsConf.pm is being updated. On a server that I used the Force Update on, this file is showing the phpBB version as 2.0.21, which is correct. On another server where I have not forced the update, this file is showing the phpBB version as being 2.0.19 (which is strange too, because the control panel's on this server are showing 2.0.20 as being available). I'm not sure if this is the only file not being updated, or really what files the CPaddons in the control panel read from, but whatever files the control panel's read from, they do not appear to be updating correctly.

    Hope this help.
     
  11. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    WHM and cPanel both use /usr/local/cpanel/cpaddons/

    Most likely that file or files could not be updated or something because

    http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsAvailable.pm
    shows 2.0.21 and so does
    http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPanel/Bulletin_Boards/phpBB.pm

    rm -rf /usr/local/cpanel/cpaddons
    and go back in and choose the cPAddons you want installed.
     
  12. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Isn't this just the same as forcing a refresh of the cpaddons? This seems to work, but it seems like you are just forcing an refresh of the addon scripts, which also works. This does not appear to have any affect on the fact that the control panel's are not being automatically updated.

    In the Bugzilla entry you mention the need to review the /scripts/cpaddonsup script, but that the easyapache stuff is your main concern right now. I can't speak for eos1 or any others that are experiencing this issue, but this issue is not that much of an urgent issue. I was just not sure if you were aware of this issue, and if you do not have the time to review this now, that's fine. I just wanted to bring the issue to the forefront, in case you were not aware of the issue.
     
  13. apea2rh

    apea2rh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok I've been having the same problem.... I tried the following:

    now I get this when I click on "The new cPAddons system can be found here":

    [a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive][a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive][a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]Can't locate cPAddonsMD5/cPanel.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /usr/local/cpanel /scripts /usr/local/cpanel/perl /usr/lib/perl5/5.6.2/i686-linux /usr/lib/perl5/5.6.2 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.6.2/i686-linux /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.6.2 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl . /usr/local/cpanel/cpaddons/) at (eval 21) line 1. BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at (eval 21) line 1.

    After reading another post in the addons forum http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=52874

    it seems you meant to say:

    cd /usr/local/cpanel/cpaddons/
    rm -rf cPanel/

    so what have I deleted I shouldn't have? and how do I get it back? :D

    Cheers

    Ash
     
  14. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    /scripts/cpaddonsup

    if that does not work for some reason, then upcp --force
     
  15. apea2rh

    apea2rh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Dan!

    /scripts/cpaddonsup didn't sort it but the upcp --force did, and it's also solved my original problem :D
     
  16. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Dan,

    Ref:
    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=3662

    I tried force updates through WHM, but not included yet?
    I checked at:
    http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/cpaddons/cPAddonsAvailable.pm
    and still the same...:rolleyes:
     
  17. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Correct, you can't update to a version that has not been created yet...

    If you follow that bug you referenced you'll see the cause for the delay, you'll see the roadmap, you'll get notified when each one gets updated, and you'll see that I'm attempting to update them as I type since the ball had been dropped. So far I've had to many distractions :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page