The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPAN broken after update to cPanel 58

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RWH Tech, Jul 22, 2016.

  1. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    EDIT: After some looking, this must've happened during the WHM 56->58 migration.
    After migrating to EA4, I got a message about broken RPMs for spamassassin and munin. Figured I'd try installing them via command line cpan, instead of running the script, and I get this:

    root@rwh [~]# cpan
    -bash: /root/perl5/bin/cpan: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/514/bin/perl: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

    On my test machine, with fresh 58 and EA4, it runs just fine.
    Installing and removing perl modules via the UI works fine, but I'm afraid some script will break if this isn't fixed. Any suggestions?
     
    #1 RWH Tech, Jul 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  2. NOC_Serverpoint

    NOC_Serverpoint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

    Check with the rpm commands to see if the package is still there in the server or else use an UPCP available in the cPanel scripts and see if that resolves the issue.
     
  3. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the info.
    I've verified that the package is installed, even went as far as reinstall it with rpm and uninstall/reinstall with yum. upcp ran fine, too.

    If I knew where cpan is picking up that path, I could change it by hand. I've tried grepping /usr and /home, but didn't find it. Will do some more digging, later.

    Perl got moved from 5.14 to 5.22 in 56, so I reckon I just haven't used cpan since then.
     
  4. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I went ahead and did a
    ln -s /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/522/bin/perl /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/514/bin/perl
    as an interim workaround until the issue is resolved.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Keep in mind that "cpan" is not a tool utilized to install RPMs via the command line. Instead, the "check_cpanel_rpms" script is used to install missing cPanel RPMS:

    check_cpanel_rpms script

    Would you mind opening a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look and determine why your system Perl stopped working after the update? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  6. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've opened ticket 7609441.

    PS: System perl is fine, just cpan is looking for 514 when 522 is there.

    root@rwh [~]# perl -v

    This is perl 5, version 16, subversion 3 (v5.16.3) built for x86_64-linux-thread-multi
    (with 29 registered patches, see perl -V for more detail)
     
  7. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The Cpanel tech determined that the cpan executable was from an old install and didn't do well without that perl 514 dir.
    The fix was easy, since the cpanel-provided cpan existed: rm -f the extraneous cpan.
     
Loading...

Share This Page