The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel 11 and ruby on rails info?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JamieD, May 2, 2007.

  1. JamieD

    JamieD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I noticed that one of the features listed on the cPanel 11 PDF is the ability to install ruby gems, no mention of ruby on rails support that I can see. I also noticed that ruby on rails support has been added according to one of the bug reports.

    Is there any more information available on the ruby on rails support that will come in cPanel 11 and if this will be part of the first stage of releases or the second?

    I would like to know things like

    How ruby on rails will be implemented, fastCGI, mongrel?

    Is there going to be any monitoring tools for it?

    I have to say that i am very pleased to see that cPanel 11 is going to support addon domains in any location in a users folder now, this is going to make things much better.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. JamieD

    JamieD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi David,

    Thanks for the additional info. The link does not have any specifics as to how ruby on rails will be implemented, the reason I ask is that there are many different ways to run this and I was interested in how cPanel will set this up.
     
  4. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The latest versions of Ruby and Rails are installed, along with Mongrel.

    I'm not sure what you mean here, can you elaborate. Thanks
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    mongrel gets installed as part of this.
     
  6. JamieD

    JamieD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I downloaded the latest edge build to a development server, ran /scripts/installruby and it looks like you have missed off installing the rails gem as part of the process. Was this intentional to let you choose which version of rails is installed of it this on oversight?

    After ruby on rails has been installed are there any cPanel features that will let customers setup domains to run rails applications or will this all have to be done manually?

    I am currently running rails on cPanel 10 in production and I have to do all the configuration outside of cPanel/WHM. I wanted to know if there is any new features, either now or planed, that will allow mongrel process management from within cPanel?

    By monitoring I was referring to mongrel process monitoring, as these are designed to run as a daemon is there any scope for monitoring these processes and restarting as needed, the same way apache, exim etc.. are monitored?

    Thanks
     
  7. BraveX

    BraveX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Two questions from me....

    Can Ruby on Rails be used without needing to give clients shell access? We have so many customers asking for it (but we don't want to have to give anyone shell access to the server).

    And when will cPanel 11 be available in production mode?

    Thanks!
    BX
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Currently it only installs ruby, and make the module installer available in whm and cpanel.
    You'll have to choose between mongrel/fastcgi on your own.


     
  9. JamieD

    JamieD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the info nick.

    You can but it's pointless, a lot, and I mean a lot, of the power of rails is accessed through shell commands. Why are you worried about giving out shell access, your system should be secured so you don't really have anything to worry about by giving out shell accounts.
     
  10. ukhost4u

    ukhost4u Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is there currently any documentation to using this feature. I have installed it and I can see its supported under Module Installers but as I have never setup a ROR site before is there anything else we need to do?
     
  11. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The usage depends on the RoR application being used. Think of it like installing a PHP app or a Perl app, they all need different modules and configuration settings (php) based on the code of the application. Here's more info about RoR coding but the specific application's requirements will dictate the necessary setup.

    http://api.rubyonrails.org/
     
  12. timdorr

    timdorr Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Why is mod_fastcgi/mod_fcgid not an install option in EasyApache? It would make the setup of RoR a *lot* easier for many people.
     
  13. WireNine

    WireNine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The new easyapache3 is still under development.
     
  14. pdeaudney

    pdeaudney Registered

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Will there be any way for clients to stop / start a mongrel server via WHM?

    Are you going to force them to log in via SSH and manually run mongrel_rails / mongrel?

    Will WHM/Cpanel setup proxypass directives in the apache config?
    Will it setup a 502 default error message?

    How are you going to start up all these mongrel servers after a reboot, @reboot entries in a users crontab??

    Some more technical details for those who want to know would be good.
     
  15. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Its a bit of a mystery.

    I ran /scripts/installruby and it all went well.

    I then logged into whm and clicked on the "module installers" section - then on the ruby link.

    I got a page with the title "Ruby Gem Magic User Loader"

    The Magic User Loader modifies the system copy of ruby so that users will be able to include modules that they install without having to modify their scripts.
    Status: disabled

    I clicked the "enable" button and waited for the magic to happen!

    It said....

    New Language Status: Enable


    Configuring ruby magic....Install Failed
    On


    I clicked the "go back" link.

    It still says Status: disabled

    Any ideas ?
     
  16. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a support ticket.
     
  17. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I tried this again today and it now shows as enabled.

    Can someone give me a basic run down on requirements to get Ruby working correctly? As I understand it, its not quite as simple as just running the installer and setting up modules - we need to also install fastcgi / mongrel ?

    Can anyone advise which one of those would be the most appropriate and how the customer will access the Ruby installation on their site ?
     
  18. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ruby on Rails will appears in cPanel if you are running EDGE , and have compiled in mod_proxy.
     
  19. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well thats not true - it appears in cpanel on CURRENT. I can see it.
     
  20. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Any chance of a proper reply ? I'm now more confused that I was before.


    You said earlier...

    Is that still the case ? Based on your last comment I'm led to beleive that its not possible to use it unless running EDGE ?

    If it isnt the case - can you please explain the procedure to get it working for a customer as I asked in my original question ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page