Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel 11 breaks cPaddon public_html root install ability

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hostmedic, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5591

    When upgrading to cPanel 11 - we have lost the ability to install any scripts to the root directory of a users public_html folder

    this is a serious issue - as all our installs for our customer base depend upon this.

    The work around we had for cPanel 10 - just no longer works -
    Any suggestions ?

    :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'd recommend using mod_rewrite to give the illusion the scripts are installed in root when they indeed are not.
     
  3. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    David...

    David - mod_rewrite is great - but not when you have to tell everyone a new directory to install to.

    This is not acceptable.

    Why break what was not broken ?


    What happens if a client installs to /wec or /site
    Keep in mind this is not just on our software package - but all cPaddons !

    A Fix is needed - not a work around.
    :mad:

    What would you suggest for a client that has upwards of 30000 sites installed in this manner - ?
    the upgrade path would break this as well...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Dave - apologies ---

    Dave - I assume your suggesting a temporary solution there... :)

    I am glad to see the bug has been confirmed -http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5591

    and looks like someone is working it...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    update: still broken

    all cPaddons - including our own are broken to date.
    I believe it may be as Dan says in the bugzilla - a coding issue...
    but just cant get around it.

    I am also surprised that ALL public cPAddons (yes I tried them all ) do not allow a root install...

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5591
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The in/ability to perform a root install of a cPAddon is a function of the cPAddon framework itself rather than an individual cPAddon.
     
  7. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    :)

    The fix was placed into the latest Edge release.

    While the cPaddon needs to have the proper code in place for an install to public_html to work - there was a bug making it so this would not happen.

    I want to thank your team - specifically Dan for his excellent work on tracking this issue down and fixing it quickly.


    I love an organization that understands their users are people who are working with people...

    Rare in this day and age.

    Thanks again
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice