Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED [CPANEL-18897] Potential Amazon s3 Bug

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Gareth Johnstone, May 1, 2018.

  1. Gareth Johnstone

    Gareth Johnstone Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi - not sure if this has been mentioned before (i googled it and found nothing)

    So - I was setting up an Amazon S3 bucket to store my backups on and this was the naming convention i chose

    Code:
    backup.mydomain.com
    and I would always receive this in the cPanel error log:

    Code:
    Validation for transport “Amazon” failed: Could not upload test file: PermanentRedirect: The bucket you are attempting to access must be addressed using the specified endpoint. Please send all future requests to this endpoint. [backup_destination_validate] version [1].
    I had to name my bucket

    Code:
    backup-mydomain-com
    for it to work.
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Clixer

    Clixer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @cPanelLauren,

    Is this backup issue with S3 fixed yet?

    I am getting the same error: "Error: Validation for transport “S3 Backup” failed: Could not upload test file: PermanentRedirect: The bucket you are attempting to access must be addressed using the specified endpoint. Please send all future requests to this endpoint."

    My S3 bucket is named as backup.mydomain.com.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Clixer

    This isn't added to the changelog but based on the case information it should be fixed in v72. What version of cPanel are you running?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Clixer

    Clixer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @cPanelLauren,

    I am using V72.0.10. So it appears that this issue is not fixed? I should then use the workaround.
     
  6. Clixer

    Clixer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @cPanelLauren,

    I have changed the bucket name to backup-my-domain-com. When trying to validate, now I am getting a new error. "Error: Validation for transport “S3 Backup” failed: Could not upload test file: NoSuchBucket: The specified bucket does not exist."

    The bucket certainly exists and I can upload files to it using the S3 console. Are you able to tell me where to from here?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  7. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Clixer

    The issue should be fixed in v72 and the version you're using. Can you confirm the bucket name resolves as you're entering it? If so can you please open a ticket using the link in my signature? Once open please reply with the Ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the resolution once the ticket is resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Clixer

    Clixer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @cPanelLauren,

    I have created a support ticket, the Support Request ID is: 9999443

    Thanks for your help with this.
     
  9. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Clixer

    Thanks for updating the ticket with that. It would appear that the issue was able to resolve by fixing an issue with the hostname syntax in the backup configuration, once the hostname for the backup server matched the bucket name properly it was able to be resolved.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Clixer

    Clixer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @cPanelLauren,

    Yes, you are correct. But the bucket name with periods still does not work e.g. "bucketname.mydomain.com".

    What would work is "bucketname-mydomain-com". Hopefully this can be fixed in the future.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  11. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Clixer

    I want to note that I initially made a mistake. The fix for this is not published to v72 of cPanel it should be present in v74 and in other versions when v74 is moved to RELEASE. I apologize for misinforming you but I will update here when v74 is moved to RELEASE

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Clixer

    v74 is now in RELEASE and you shouldn't be experiencing this issue anymore if you've updated. The backports for this haven't been completed so this is the only version the fix is available in.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice