The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel + 2.6.10 Kernel + Grsecurity problem!

Discussion in 'Security' started by x-man, Jan 31, 2005.

  1. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use guide on:
    http://eth0.us/?q=node/25

    when I update kernel on my red hat 9 box (celeron 2.0GHz) and now I have some problems with cpanel/whm:

    When I want update cpanel I have this errors:
    Retrieving http://layer1.cpanel.net/fp/frontpage-5.2-0.i386.rpm
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    PHP version file is up to date
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    Send Disk Warning
    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    Ftp Setup Script Version 6.0
    Fetching version information from http://updates.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/version (RELEASE)....Done
    This is the proftpd 1.2.10tls installer release number 5 for platform redhat 9
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    Using RPM Backend: RPM version 4.2
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm

    and every new line I have errors:
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm

    Also, now when I click on "Service Status" I have this for EXIM:
    exim (packageeximisnotinstalled) up

    On old kerner all work fine!

    Can somebody help to me, what now?

    Thanks
     
  2. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can somebody help to me :(
    Whole day I search on google and nothing, I can`t fix this RPM problem...
     
  3. picoyak

    picoyak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  4. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    The export works great :) I actually was just working on another RH9 system today and found the same problem. Thanks.
     
  5. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes, export work fine but what after that, that work one time, how I can fix this error, now I have problem with exim (exim (packageeximisnotinstalled)), can I upgrade RPM to new version on this Redhat 9 and on who and how?
    Now rpm --version = 4.2

    Must be some way, I can`t find nothing on net...
     
  6. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well being as RH9 is EOL I would not hold my breath as to finding a solution. You really should just upgrade to ferdora/centos/RHEL.
     
  7. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Very nice but I don`t know how I can upgrade to one of that OSs and for RHEL I must pay...also, how much time server must be down and I must format HD?

    I want fix this on REDHAT 9 and soon buy new server with new OS and shutdown this...but I don`t know how I can fix this, I search google 1000s times and nothing for me, on who version I can upgrade this RPM 4.2 on REDHAT 9 and where I can download that? Can that fix this problem, somebody must now this, somebody must have redhat 9 and kernerl 2.6.10...
     
Loading...

Share This Page