Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED [CPANEL-20535] Adding MX records to subdomains

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by rinkleton, May 29, 2018.

Tags:
  1. rinkleton

    rinkleton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cleveland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This this still work in V70? I've enabled both Zone options in Feature Manager. When filling in "Name", it autocompletes to the full domain name and fails with the error: adminbin Cpanel/mx/ADD: exit 29. Using UAPI Email::add_mx it fails with adminbin Cpanel/mx/ADD: exit 255. I haven't tried it with the zone editor API. But using the WHM zone editor interface, it does accept it.

    Also, when on the Email Routing page, and you select a subdomain entry, it never will show you any email routing selected. If you run the cpanel2 api call to get routing, it will return the correct value. If you are lucky enough to have WHM access, and you can set an MX record for the subdomain, it will properly show you the value.

    I do have to voice my displeasure with this change. At the very least it is confusing and inconsistent. But it certainly looks like their is some funkiness with it.
     
  2. rinkleton

    rinkleton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cleveland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also, I get the same errors when it's setup as an addon domain. I'm assuming this is because the subdomain part of addons shares functionality with the regular "subdomains."

    I know in the past creating a domain that is really a subdomain of the primary domain as the "Domain" field of an Addon domain had issues. I think it was relating to SPF or DKIM records not being written to the correct zone file. Hopefully all that has been corrected. If it has, I'd say the rule is: Never use aliases or subdomains or the the subdomain field of addon domains. ALWAYS just use the domain field of Addons. It solves a lot of problems. The only annoyance is it forces a subdomain which is not needed.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,323
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @rinkleton,

    I moved these posts to a separate thread.

    The following case is included in cPanel & WHM version 70.0.47 and should solve the issue you have reported:

    Fixed case CPANEL-20535: Fix adding MX records to subdomains.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice