Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

In Progress [CPANEL-27863] After update to WHM 80 cPanel installed Litespeed without asking

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by servio, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. servio

    servio Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It is horrible!

    I am using Cloudlinux + EA4 + Apache 2.4 + mod_lsapi and after latest WHM 80 update Litespeed was installed without asking me!

    I never bought any LID for Litespeed, it is joke that someone can buy LID for my IP and cPanel will install Litespeed?

    From logs:

    /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.1559798761.log

    [2019-06-05 22:28:11 -0700] Processing: Checking and provisioning LiteSpeed if licensed
    [2019-06-05 22:28:11 -0700] - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/litespeed-check --run`
    [2019-06-05 22:28:12 -0700] [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/litespeed-check] Serial Number is XXXX


    root 14904 0.0 0.0 112708 988 pts/0 S+ 11:18 0:00 grep --color=auto litespeed
    root 26512 0.0 0.0 84428 52640 ? S 02:07 0:05 litespeed (lshttpd - main)
    nobody 26538 0.0 0.0 102316 52728 ? Sl 02:07 0:24 litespeed (lshttpd - #01)
    nobody 26539 2.7 0.1 305804 102964 ? Sl 02:07 15:18 litespeed (lshttpd - #02)
    nobody 26540 0.0 0.0 101348 52540 ? Sl 02:07 0:22 litespeed (lshttpd - #03)
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,466
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @servio

    I know that if purchased through our store litespeed will be automatically installed but if you didn't purchase it, this shouldn't occur.
    I think in this instance the ability to look at the affected system and obtain more information is warranted. Can you please open a ticket using the link in my signature? Once open please reply with the Ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the resolution once the ticket is resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. servio

    servio Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ticket 12511195

    However I don't know who bought it..

    So If I buy Litespeed LID for another server from another company cPanel night cron will install Litespeed? It is scary..
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,466
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    There are some prerequisites, it has to correlate to the cPanel License for that specific server since cPanel licenses are issued per IP address and you'd have to purchase it in the cPanel store.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. servio

    servio Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    "There are some prerequisites"

    No and your support on ticket confirmed that it is issue.

    It should working only when bought via cPanel market from WHM interface, however now it working too if someone buy on your website directly :)
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,466
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    There are prerequisites it just looks like all potential circumstances weren't visited. In this case a user on your server purchased this for your IP address through the cPanel store (this matches the IP address criteria and the purchase of it through the cPanel store criteria) based on this it looks like they'll most likely need to enforce some further rules on this to ensure that the purchaser is the admin of the server.

    Your ticket prompted a case CPANEL-27863 /scripts/litespeed-check during upcp allows someone to force install litespeed in some cases

    I'll update here when there is more information available or any updates on this case.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice