In Progress [CPANEL-27976] Ability to disable "Filesystem quotas are currently disabled" banner

SJR

Active Member
Jan 2, 2017
29
4
3
USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Just did cPanel upgrade to v80.0.9. Immediate issues I observed:

Yellow warning banner on home page now shows 'Filesystem quotas are currently disabled. Click to enable'.
Our server is set up with a single user, and I don't want to enable.

How do I get this warning banner to disappear?

I have rebooted server twice. No changes.

Advice anyone?

Thanks.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

UpsideOut

Member
Feb 4, 2003
16
0
151
3) Yellow warning banner on home page now shows 'Filesystem quotas are currently disabled. Click to enable'.
Our server is set up with a single user, and I don't want to enable.

How do I get this warning banner to disappear?
I would also like to know this.
 

SJR

Active Member
Jan 2, 2017
29
4
3
USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
However, the large yellow warning banner still shows. It looks rather obnoxious.
Is there any way to hide or disable this banner since I won't be enabling quotas on this server?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cPanelMichael

Technical Support Community Manager
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,911
2,233
363
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Twitter
Hello,

Quotas are enabled by default on new installations of cPanel & WHM and we recommend enabling quotas on existing cPanel & WHM installations. Once quotas are enabled, the following document explains how you can specify file system types that you wish to exclude from cPanel & WHM's quota system:

The Quota File Systems Configuration File - Version 80 Documentation - cPanel Documentation

Thank you.

Moderator Edit Note: I removed the reference to the /var/cpanel/reboot_required_for_quota touch file workaround, as it does not appear applicable to this particular banner.
 
Last edited:

SJR

Active Member
Jan 2, 2017
29
4
3
USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Michael, thank you.
I respectfully apologize for my confusion -

I don't have this file in this location:

/var/cpanel/reboot_required_for_quota

Does this file function with with the yellow banner that says:
'you must reboot your system to enable quotas'

I don't have that message. I have this message:
'Filesystem quotas are currently disabled. Click to enable'

Is there a different file for this specific message considering I don't have the file you specified?
 

mvandemar

Well-Known Member
Jun 17, 2006
91
22
158
I don't have this file in this location:

/var/cpanel/reboot_required_for_quota
Neither do I, and I too would like to get rid of this message. It's on a client's site with a single cpanel, and I don't know what the net effect of enabling quotas will have (it's a Bluehost server and they sometimes do some funky stuff), and due to the amount of live traffic this site gets I can't just "try it and see". It would be great if there were a way to dismiss this message, thanks.

-Michael
 

cPanelMichael

Technical Support Community Manager
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,911
2,233
363
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Twitter
Hello @SJR and @mvandemar,

I modified my earlier response to remove the reference to the /var/cpanel/reboot_required_for_quota touch file workaround, as it does not appear applicable to the specific warning banner referenced in this thread.

Can you verify if there are any specific issues preventing you from enabling quotas on the system? We document some notes and common fixes for quotas on the link below:

How to Fix Quotas - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

Once quotas are enabled, the "Filesystem quotas are currently disabled" banner should no longer appear. At this point, you can disable quota calculation on specific file system types using the instructions on the document below if you prefer:

The Quota File Systems Configuration File - Version 80 Documentation - cPanel Documentation

Thank you.
 

mvandemar

Well-Known Member
Jun 17, 2006
91
22
158
Can you verify if there are any specific issues preventing you from enabling quotas on the system?
My specific issues are:

1) I don't see a need for enabling them, as this is a single client system,

2) I don't know what the net impact is when enabling them, and don't really have time to research them (I was under the impression that it was to prevent individual cpanel clients from using more disk space than they should, although I may have that wrong?), and

3) as I mentioned, this is a high traffic live server. If there is a chance that enabling them could potentially cause any downtime then I need to inform the client ahead of time why we need to take the risk.

Is there a reason that cpanel has decided that enabling disk quotas is now a requirement?

-Michael
 

SJR

Active Member
Jan 2, 2017
29
4
3
USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
My server will 'always' be a single client system, and there will 'never' be a second client.
I don't want to take any risks that there may be downtime when enabling the quotas.
Upon clicking 'Initial Quota Setup' we are immediately presented with a 'Warning' message, ending with the statement, "Proceed at your own risk".
CPanel may want to assess whether quotas should be strongly encouraged, or at least give us the option to remove the yellow warning banner.
I have also read in that quotas may impact the speed of the server, compared to a system where quotas is not enabled.
Please advise.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mvandemar

cPanelMichael

Technical Support Community Manager
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,911
2,233
363
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Twitter
Hello @SJR,

Could you open a support ticket so we can evaluate the current state of your system and verify if it's intended for the "Filesystem quotas are currently disabled" banner to appear without a method of disabling it? You can post the ticket number here and I'll update this thread with the outcome for anyone else affected by the issue.

Thank you.
 

nunop

Member
Jan 27, 2012
9
1
53
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I subscribe to this. I also do NOT want quotas enabled on my server (single user), and cPanel is just forcing us to enable them.
No problem adding this to the Security Advisor items, but having a yellow banner on the top is just too obtrusive for a permanent warning.

Please add an option to disable this. For now, I'll be using AdBlock to remove it, but at the same time I may miss other important warnings that would appear at the same spot.
 

Thomas Swidler

Registered
Jun 5, 2019
1
0
1
California
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Neither do I, and I too would like to get rid of this message. It's on a client's site with a single cpanel, and I don't know what the net effect of enabling quotas will have (it's a Bluehost server and they sometimes do some funky stuff), and due to the amount of live traffic this site gets I can't just "try it and see". It would be great if there were a way to dismiss this message, thanks.

-Michael
Neither would I like to have that message. I will not enable quotas and I want that yellow bar removed. It is not a requirement and should not stare in my face in bright yellow as a warning message. I don't want to enable something I then disable. Plus "initial enabling" does not work on my system telling me tons of warning messages that no filesystem with quotas are found. All I did is upgraded to your latest release. I don't want a headage.
 

SJR

Active Member
Jan 2, 2017
29
4
3
USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hello @SJR,

Could you open a support ticket so we can evaluate the current state of your system and verify if it's intended for the "Filesystem quotas are currently disabled" banner to appear without a method of disabling it? You can post the ticket number here and I'll update this thread with the outcome for anyone else affected by the issue.

Thank you.

Very kindly Michael, at this point it doesn't seem reasonable for me to open a support ticket to have only my system evaluated when there are many others who would like to have a way to hide or disable this warning banner.
I believe the correct solution would be to have cPanel provide a solution for everyone.
 

ryancom2190

Member
Dec 7, 2011
5
1
53
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
So even when I try to go through and enable the quota via the banner link, I just get a message like this:
journaled quota support: kernel supports, user space tools supports (available)
checking out /backup
Quotas have been enabled and updated.
Reading package default
No filesystems with quota detected.
Resetting quota for aco to 0 M
It then continues to go through all the sites on the server with the same "No filesystems with quota detected" message.
I don't have any sites that have quotas enabled so that part all makes sense but the banner is still there. Am I missing a setting someplace? Or do I really HAVE to set arbitrary quotas on sites?
 

ryancom2190

Member
Dec 7, 2011
5
1
53
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
So even when I try to go through and enable the quota via the banner link, I just get a message like this:

It then continues to go through all the sites on the server with the same "No filesystems with quota detected" message.
I don't have any sites that have quotas enabled so that part all makes sense but the banner is still there. Am I missing a setting someplace? Or do I really HAVE to set arbitrary quotas on sites?
I should also point out that there is this message on the Quota Modification page:
Your system uses Virtuozzo containers. For disk quotas to work, your hosting provider may need to enable quotas on the host node.
 

ryancom2190

Member
Dec 7, 2011
5
1
53
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I put up a workaround on my browser using Tampermonkey, but any userscript.js browser plugin will work. Here is the script I am using which just specifically hides the Quota Warning so it won't affect any other banners messages that show up there.:
Code:
(function() {
    'use strict';
    // Create function to add CSS
    function addCSSRule(sheet, selector, rules, index) {
    if("insertRule" in sheet) {
        sheet.insertRule(selector + "{" + rules + "}", index);
    }
    else if("addRule" in sheet) {
        sheet.addRule(selector, rules, index);
    }
}
// Add CSS to hide message
addCSSRule(document.styleSheets[0], "#quotaDisabledWarning", "display: none !important;");
})();
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: jrxpress