SOLVED CPANEL-40934 - website.com says : Are you sure you want to save? The file will be overwritten.

zgregor

Registered
Jun 11, 2022
1
1
1
USA
cPanel Access Level
Reseller Owner
Hi,
Everytime I try to edit a file through the cPanel file manager I get this warning :
Are you sure you want to save? The file will be overwritten.
The file is overwritten with the new change instead of just editing therefore I can't go back.
How to remove this warning and make it edit normally?
Thanks
 
  • Like
Reactions: plove79

tonytrevor

Registered
Jun 20, 2022
1
0
1
TURKEY
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
This is what happened after the last update, it's very annoying, anyone who knows the solution, please tell me, I'm editing files simultaneously. After this warning, ctrl+z doesn't work either, please urgently
@admin
 

plove79

Member
Feb 26, 2016
9
1
53
New York, USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
This is what happened after the last update, it's very annoying, anyone who knows the solution, please tell me, I'm editing files simultaneously. After this warning, ctrl+z doesn't work either, please urgently
@admin
Ouch. Ctrl-Z always used to work even after 'saves' took place. I can confirm that it definitely does not work anymore though!
 
  • Like
Reactions: tonytrevor

plove79

Member
Feb 26, 2016
9
1
53
New York, USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
The writeup in the 'report CPANEL-40934 ' is incorrect.
In the past, pre 104, users could edit, save, edit, save, and undo all the way back to the beginning of the editing session.
Now, when the file is saved, it appears that the editor page is actually refreshed - which blocks all undo operations.
(Undo is only available BEFORE the user clicks save -- which is strange - because errors will only be noticed After the user clicks save - and therefore cannot be undone as of 104)
Can you please update the ticket?
 

Kane_

Registered
Jul 13, 2022
1
0
1
United States
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I have updated to the newest version and I am now able to undo past the saves but I am still getting the warning message. The weird thing is this is only happening with select cPanel accounts on the same server. Some work fine without the warning message.
 

NodexHost

Member
Jul 13, 2022
5
1
3
New Zealand
cPanel Access Level
Reseller Owner
@NodexHost - I did see that feature request and deleted it, since this is an issue with the File Manager tool that we're addressing through the case mentioned in this thread.
Why did you delete it? I was told to create a "feature request" in my support ticket.
It's not an issue with the File Manager tool, it's a new popup that was implemented in v103/104 which users find frustrating.
Screenshot 2022-07-16 at 12.59.29 AM.png
 

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
11,032
1,741
363
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I spoke with our developers and confirmed that this is in fact an issue with the tool. They have created case CPANEL-41131 to work on that issue directly, so no feature request is necessary, as requests are designed to add functionality but not for fixing actual issues.

We'll get that taken care of!