The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPANEL 7.4 + MYSQL = Disaster

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Cavaliere, Sep 28, 2003.

  1. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    All new accounts I create with CPANEL
    ( 7.4.2-S117 ) can't use MySQL ( 4.0.15)
    databases ... this is horrible !

    everything worked perfectly until this last update !!

    I can create a DB with Cpanel but then it will be unavailable to that user !

    when users logs into phpMyAdmin ... it shows no databases saying "No Privileges" !

    only ROOT can see them ALL !

    please, tell me there is a solution ... IT'S A DISASTER ...
    all my CPANEL users are CUT OFF !!!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try reinstalling DBI

    /scripts/perlinstaller Bundle::DBD::mysql

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You need to make sure you have a root password set.
    You can do this from within WHM.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no ...

    thanks for the answer ... but no...
    it isn't a root password problem.

    I've it set correctly, and everything worked PERFECTLY
    until now. ( 6 months )

    it's a problem of the latest CPANEL ... :-(

    I'm desperate ... all my clients are CUT OFF !

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    anyway

    anyway, i'll try the perlinstaller script solution tonight,
    and I'll let you know if that worked.
     
  6. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: anyway

    Have you actually tried re-setting the password?
    Using the set mysql root password feature?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :-(

    I tried re-setting the password

    and

    I also tried the /scripts/perlinstaller ...


    both of them didn't work ...


    oh ... I'm really stuck and desperate.

    All my cpanel users are literally going mad :
    they can't see the DB they create ... just that damn "no privileges" writing.

    I've also tried to reinstall MYSQL !!!

    it must be a cpanel bug or something.

    and, I'm not the only one having this problem ...
    I've found other posts on our rackshack forum

    but no one has been able to fix it 'til now ....

    :-(
     
  8. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Which os are you using?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #9 Cavaliere, Sep 28, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2003
  10. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does your mysql root password have any !/&$ or any non 0-9/A-Z/a-z chars in it? If so. Try re-setting it to something with normal chars.

    Also, I would suggest doing the following:

    1) Set your update preference to edge.
    2) Login to root SSH.
    3) /scripts/updatenow; /scripts/updatenow
    4) /scripts/upcp

    That *should* resolve your issues.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try this from ssh as root

    mysql -u root -p
    Enter password:

    Once in then do

    use mysql;
    show tables;

    You should see

    mysql> show tables;
    +-----------------+
    | Tables_in_mysql |
    +-----------------+
    | columns_priv |
    | db |
    | func |
    | host |
    | tables_priv |
    | user |
    +-----------------+
    6 rows in set (0.00 sec)


    Then do this
    select * from user;

    Does it show the users and their login rights info?

    If so then mysql is at least working correctly.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You really should put in a ticket as your mysql priv table may be corrupted.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok .. so ...

    I did that ....
    Users are there, databases are there, login info are there, everything is there ... 100% ...

    Anyway, I think I've found out something ...

    as root, ( mysql -u root -p) I can access ALL the databases .... and they work perfectly.

    instead, if i try to enter as a normal CPANEL-created user,

    mysql -u USERNAME -p ...

    I can login ... but ... I have no privileges !

    I can't use / read / modify any database ...
    not even "mine" !!!

    ( and, so far, this is the same IDENTICAL thing that
    happens via PHPMYADMIN ... )

    but ... If i switch back to ROOT, and I MANUALLY
    execute a "grant" command to that user on his databases,
    it works !!!

    ____________

    in simple words, it's a matter of privileges ...
    CPANEL is creating users and databases, but
    it don't give them their default privileges !!!

    this is why, accessing through PHPMYADMIN,
    it says "no privileges" ...

    how can i fix that ?!?
    why does it happen ... does anyone have an idea ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You may have to take bdraco's advise and get their help to see why the priv tables are not correct.

    You may be able to see this issue with

    select * from db;

    That will show - | Host | Db | User | Select_priv | Insert_priv | Update_priv | Delete_priv | Create_priv | Drop_priv | Grant_priv | References_priv | Index_priv | Alter_priv | Create_tmp_table_priv | Lock_tables_priv |

    For each user there should only be one NO answer on Grant_priv.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK ...

    Ok ... I'll put in a ticket ... and we'll see what happened.

    I think you're right ... the priv table must be getting corrupted in some way ...

    ( although I reinstalled MYSQL and cleared all the TABLES and did a mysql_install_db from ZERO ... )

    anyway, THANK YOU to all !
    let's hope !

    :)
     
  16. linuxman

    linuxman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did you get an answer from CPanel on this issue, I am running the latest version of CPanel and I still get this error. All the users who I created sometime ago work fine. Now any users I create cannot create or access databases. The problem is this also kills all the addin scripts, like oscommerce and invision. Let me know, thanks.
     
  17. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :-(

    I have tried tens and tens different solutions ...
    it has been a real pain adventure, don't make me think about it ! :)

    It tortured me for weeks and weeks ...

    anyway, fortunately at last, I tried the most drastic solution
    (AND IT WORKED GREAT !) :

    I have RE-installed MYSQL from ZERO ...
    I completely eradicated it from the server
    ( even the mysql.sock files all around !!! )
    and then I installed it ***MANUALLY*** again.

    now, it works great.

    ( when I tried to install it "automatically",
    IT DIDN'T WORK like I said in my previous post )

    I hope you can do this too.
     
    #17 Cavaliere, Oct 19, 2003
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2003
  18. linuxman

    linuxman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So did you loose all your databases that were already established. We literally have over a hundred belonging to our clients. I am considering getting a second server and importing the sites, but I don't know if this will work either. I am afraid it will import or transfer the permissions.
     
Loading...

Share This Page