The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel and Awstat

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dlc2000, Mar 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dlc2000

    dlc2000 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi,
    i have a problem with my awstat, it dont get daily updated but only after a few of days, any solution?

    Thank you
     
  2. d4rkl0rd

    d4rkl0rd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    You can try this..

    Hi,

    You can update your awstat by ::

    /scripts/runweblogs <username>

    Cheers,:D
     
  3. ryno267

    ryno267 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    anybody know how to make awstats accessible OUTSIDE of the control panel without having to login?

    I'd like to make it so you could just goto your domain.com/awstats and have them display in there and then give the option for the client to do .htaccess dir protect if they wish.

    Just need to know how to get access out of control panel.

    thanks
     
  4. d4rkl0rd

    d4rkl0rd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Hi,

    Follow this steps it will hel you::


    Accessing Awstats from outside the control panel is easy.

    Step 1.

    Download awstats from http://awstats.sourceforge.net

    Step 2.

    Uncompress awstats-5.6.tgz

    Step 3.

    Copy the contents of the uncompressed cgi-bin folder from your hard drive to the user cgi-bin directory (this includes awstats.pl, awstats.model.conf, and the lang, lib and plugins sub-directories).

    Step 4.

    If necessary (should not be needed with most setups), edit the first (top-most) line of awstats.pl file that is
    #!/usr/bin/perl
    to reflect the path were your Perl interpreter is installed. Default value works for most of Unix OS, but it also might be
    #!/usr/local/bin/perl

    Step 5.

    Move AWStats icon sub-directories and its content into a directory readable by your web server, for example /home/users/public_html/icons

    Step 6.

    Copy awstats.model.conf file into a new file named awstats.myvirtualhostname.conf. This new file must be stored in
    /home/user/public_html/cgi-bin.

    Step 7.

    Edit this new config file with your own setup :
    - Change LogFile value with full path of your web server log file
    (The path is:
    LogFile="/usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com").

    - Check if LogFormat has the value "1" (it means "NCSA apache combined/ELF/XLF log format").

    - Change DirIcons parameter to reflect relative path of icon directory.
    (DirIcons="/icons")

    - Edit SiteDomain parameter with the main domain name or the intranet web server name used to reach the web site to analyze (Example: www.mydomain.com).

    IMPORTANT!
    - Change DirData to use the same Statics file than Cpanel Awstats and do not loose any entry.
    (DirData="/home/user/tmp/awstats/")

    Step 8.

    Access AwStats by the URL:

    www.domain.com/cgi-bin/awstats.pl?config=domain.com

    That's all!!!

    The AwStats will refresh the Statics every 24 Hours.


    Cheers,
    :D
     
  5. ullalla

    ullalla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are you sure?

    Hi,

    Are you sure that it will work?

    Tahnks :)

    Ullalla
     
  6. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I think I saw a post in cPanel that used simlinking to the actual awstats folder in the /tmp directory of the user. I have not tried it but seemed to be a better way to use default awstats instead of downloding a whole new software.

    A search would help for those who need it.;)
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The method mentioned above is also an extremely dangerous way of doing it unless you ensure that each and every installation is kept up to date at all times. There are a multitude of awstats.pl compromise scripts out there which pounce on a vulnerability as soon as another is found and is a very common route into your server for hackers.

    Anyway, this is a two year old thread, please try not to dig old ones up.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page